Jam Thumbprints Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
These were pretty good, better if you make sure you slightly underbake them. I did one batch with putting the jelly on AFTER baking them and a second batch putting the jelly on halfway through baking. I preferred the batch in which I added jelly halfway through baking because it stays in place better and it looks nicer, more smooth. I used apple jelly and colored half green, half red for Christmas. The dough was very easy and nice to work with! Make sure you put a DEEP imprint in the cookie for the jelly. The first batch I put a regular thumbprint in the cookies and when they baked, you could hardly see it anymore and there wasn't much of a well anymore for the jelly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOXIEGRETL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2000
I love these cookies and they look very pretty too if you are bringing dessert to a party or a friend's house. I like them better without the nuts, so I suggest leaving them out. The recipe also tends to be really small (while the recipe indicates that it makes 2 1/2 dozen, I didn't even get a full dozen out of it. I would suggest doubling the ingredients for a fuller batch. Overall easy to make and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2002
These were great additions to my other Christmas cookies. I left some without the nuts and I used mint jelly instead for a festive look! Everybody loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2002
This recipe is the perfect size for two people. I added a dash of cinnamon and it was wonderful. I used a pastry bag with the jelly for faster/easier filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Summerset

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2001
Well, I made a few changes on this recipe due to ingredient limitations. I used butter flavored shortening instead of butter. I doubled the recipe. Used half as many whole eggs instead of separated, since I didn't do the nut thing. I added a pinch of cream of tartar, and a pinch of baking soda because I couldn't find the baking powder, andI wanted teh cookies to puff up. I added about 1/2 cup more sugar because I was afraid they wouldn't be very sweet, and rolled the balls a bit bigger. I filled half of them with apricot preserves, and the other half with raspberry. I never even looked at the baking time and temps, but I baked them at 325 convection for 12 minutes. Everyone loved them, and I plan to make them again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by your mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Tukwila, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2001
These cookies are buttery and delicious! I tripled the recipe, and everything turned out fine. When doubling or tripling the recipe, you should be able to save some of the egg whites for another use. I increased the sugar to 1/2 cup. I also omitted the salt, and the cookies tasted fine. To make dough easier to handle, try chilling it for about an hour or more before shaping it into balls. Very impressive-looking cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
These cookies are great tasting! My husband likes when I use a variety blackberry jam, orange marmalade, and peach preserves. My kids like them, but not as well as gingerbread men or chocolate chip cookies. Love how it has a delicate shortbread taste texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bedford, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
The cookies taste very good, but you need to make very deep thumbprints or you will not fit enough jelly in them. I also put the cookies back into the oven after I put the jelly in the center in order to set the jelly. I also by-passed the egg whites and dipped the cookies in powdered sugar (it seemed to stick better that way).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingleside, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lindenhurst, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2002
I make these every year for Christmas and get a lot of compliments. Excellent cookie- look very pretty on the platters I give away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riblet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2001
They were good, but I had a hard time making the whole in the middle just right for the preserves. My cookies seemed to want to spread too much. I used powdered sugar instead of nuts and the office staff loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Eggnog Thumbprints

Decadent cookies that taste like eggnog are perfect for the holidays.

Jam Kolaches

These little Polish cookies can be filled with your favorite jam.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States