Jam Thumbprints Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2006
The best cookies ever. I tried them with chopped walnuts and chopped pecans. The pecans turned out soooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
These were pretty good, better if you make sure you slightly underbake them. I did one batch with putting the jelly on AFTER baking them and a second batch putting the jelly on halfway through baking. I preferred the batch in which I added jelly halfway through baking because it stays in place better and it looks nicer, more smooth. I used apple jelly and colored half green, half red for Christmas. The dough was very easy and nice to work with! Make sure you put a DEEP imprint in the cookie for the jelly. The first batch I put a regular thumbprint in the cookies and when they baked, you could hardly see it anymore and there wasn't much of a well anymore for the jelly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOXIEGRETL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
Very good cookie with various fillings. We like ours with orange marmalade, but also have tried raspberry and strawberry preserves (orange was the hands-down winner, though!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
The Jam Thumbprints are delicious. I used Jam instead of the preserves as suggested and it turned out wonderful. They are quite tasty and I received lots of compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
These were good. I used strawberry preserves and filled them before baking. Parchment paper is a most when baking cookies but in this case it's definitely helpful because the filling ocassionally spills/oozes out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
Easy, quick and good recipe for jam thumbprint cookies. I tried what people mentioned, no egg wash, no nuts, put jelly in for the full baking time...they turned out good, cept I think I may need to bake them longer than 16 minutes, also, the jam tended to ooze off the cookies and onto the baking sheet. I think I'll make smaller thumbprints and put less jam in next time. I used strawberry jam and blackberry jam. The blackberry jam didn't ooze like the strawberry jam did. But, this recipe is definitely a do-over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Skokie, Illinois, USA
Living In: Streamwood, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
These were fine but I didn't add the jam before cooking and I think they would have been better if I did follow the others advice. Will probably make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gloria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
Wow wow wow! I LOVE these cookies! I fill them with jelly first (I love raspberry the best) and then cook. I also don't bother with the eggwash or nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
These are simply delicious! I skipped the egg white/nut step - as I love the simple taste of a great shortbread cookie. I do recommend filling with jam first, then baking the full time - mine were done in 17 minutes, and came out beautifully. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BroncosFan
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2005
Very easy and a perfect Christmas cookie the kids can help with. Not quite like Mom used to make, but possibly better. I think I had better go have another 5 or 6 before I make that call. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Eggnog Thumbprints

Decadent cookies that taste like eggnog are perfect for the holidays.

Jam Kolaches

These little Polish cookies can be filled with your favorite jam.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States