Jam Thumbprints Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
They are toooooooooooooooooooo good, I put a dash of almond extract, ummm oh Sandy from NJ
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
after making the dough, I divided it in half and added orange extract to one half anf almond extract to the other half.I also added a teaspoon of flour to each half to make up for adding the extract. I also refidgerated to make dough easier to handle. making two different flavored cookies with with strawberry jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
These are awesome! They taste great and they are so pretty too. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Delicious! I make these every year with with various other cookies for Christmas and these are always everyone's favorite! I always skip the egg white/nuts part and use raspberry jam. The best tip I could leave is to make sure you use SEEDLESS jam. It really does make a difference. This recipe impressed both my boss and my mother-in-law, my two biggest critics in life! Haha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mrslindsaylane
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Love these cookies. The cookie itself isn't that sweet. It is the Jam that gives it its sweetness. They get really addicting so BEWARE! I love these with a hot cup of coffee. Sometimes I try to justify eating these for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrslindsaylane

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I love these cookies, but I do them a bit differently. There is absolutely no need to wait to add the jam until after baking. In fact, it turns out MUCH better if you add the jam to the cookies before putting them in the oven. Not only do you bypass the "is my thumbprint big enough" worry, but the jam sets nicely, smooths out with the cookie, and doesn't fall off or jiggle and wiggle unattractively. It does not burn. Just don't put too much jam, only enough to fill the well you've made. It isn't a tricky balance or anything- it's just that if you have a huge excess of jam, it will run off the cookie as it melts. I also prefer them without the walnuts, and find apricot jam to be my absolute favorite filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
If you use the handle of a wooden spoon to make the "thumbprint" it will be just deep enough. After baking they will rise a bit so while hot you can repeat the indentation. I also put the jam in when the cookies cooled and the jam was a bit runny. However I did find that after a night in the refridgerater the jam had set nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookaholic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Stouffville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
(omit salt) Still a great cookie though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
they were Sooooo oily due to SOO much butter very hard to handle and shape... i didnt wanted to dip it in egg white coz my son is allergic to egg white .. but i will not make thes again... too much butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
Make sure you make smaller cookies because these break easily. Chill the dough overnight. I added the jelly halfway through cooking time and that gives the jelly a smoother glassy appearance. Instead of strawberry, use apricot or raspberry jelly. Instead of dipping the rolled balls into egg whites and nuts, roll into powder sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Belle

Cooking Level: Professional


Displaying results 21-30 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Eggnog Thumbprints

Decadent cookies that taste like eggnog are perfect for the holidays.

Jam Kolaches

These little Polish cookies can be filled with your favorite jam.

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States