Jam Thumbprints Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
These were awesome. I made some with blackberry and I made some with strawberry. I drizzled ganache over the strawberry cookies. Masterpiece. If you are looking for a great thumbprint this is the one you will want to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma Crawford

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seaside Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
These cookies are wonderful! They are the exact recipe my mom use to make. I lost the recipe and had been looking for years, trying every thumbprint recipe I could find.....this is it, easy to make and always a crowd pleaser...... The only step I do differently is to fill the cookies with a variety of jams before I bake them, just like mom use too! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miller Place, New York, USA
Living In: Mullica Hill, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
I tried this recipe because I lost my Mom's original, and this seemed closest. I made them smaller, and baked a bit less - and after the first 5 minutes, pulled them out and recreated the indentation with the end of a wooden spoon. some of them melted and looked a mess. HOWEVER, when it was all baked (I fill them right after they come out of the oven - apple jelly and mint jelly for Christmas), and I tried one of the melted ones - better than Mom's recipe (Sorry, Mom). The other thing I changed (I know, shame on me) was I used brown sugar - only because the recipe I was trying to duplicate used brown sugar. Worked out pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BURGUNDY2

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
I was not so crazy about these. I thot the jam would thicken up like the store bought kind, mine did not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gisele

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
WOW! these are absolutely delicious! I made these for Christmas gifts this year and followed it exactly. I used blackberry and red raspberry preserves and couldn't keep my hands off of them. They were a huge hit with my neighbors as well. Thanks for sharing this amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Revell Chasteen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Followed the recipe exactly. Baked a batch and waited until they were done to put the jam in, and baked a batch with the jam. I thought baking with the jam would help the jam stay on the cookie more. There was actually no difference. LOVE these cookies and they will be on the list every year for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I have been looking for a reliable thumbprint recipe for the past 2 years and this recipe was finally the answer. They were easy make and tasted wonderful. I finally have a fruit cookie for my christmas tray!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Point Pleasant Beach, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Very easy to make! Was a little worried because the dough was sort of crumbly but when we shaped it into the balls it formed perfectly. Instead of nuts we used flaked coconut & they turned out yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
I also add the jelly before baking them. It does help it to set. Instead of nuts, I always roll them in flaked coconut, tinted with red and green food coloring!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
I used raspberry preserves in the thumb print. They are a great butter cookie with a delicious middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggnog Thumbprints

Decadent cookies that taste like eggnog are perfect for the holidays.

Jam Kolaches

These little Polish cookies can be filled with your favorite jam.

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States