Jam Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
I was excited that I had all the ingredients on hand to make these. They tasted good, but not a "muffin" consistency. Muffins tend to be more cake-like, and this had a cross between biscuits and cornbread. My husband loved them, but calls them "Jelly Biscuits." I think this is a good recipe, but not a proper name. If you are looking for a traditional muffin recipe, this does not taste like the packages we just add milk to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArlenePlunkett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
This was my first attempt at 'from scratch' muffins since I usually use the boxed kind, and it was a great success! I substituted Splenda for white sugar and added apricot preserves rather than Jam. The chunks of apricots in the muffin added an extra treat to each muffin. This recipe is very quick and easy and absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
Every recipe has so many good reviews and bad reviews - but I read some on this and gave it a try. I really liked it. It was also nice to have simple, on-hand ingredients. Here's what I changed: - I always use half all-purpose flour, half whole wheat flour - I used 1/2 white sugar, 1/2 brown sugar - I added a tad more milk - it was too dry initially - I put just a bit less jam than called for - I did one batch plain (for my nut and raisin hating ds) - I did one batch with nuts and raisins - both batches turned out great - I lowered the temp to 350 degrees as suggested I will be adding this to my keeper file!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
I used strawberry jam to make the muffins. They were very moist and had a nice look to it. I added a bit more jam than the recipes called for and omit the sugar, since some reviewers said that the taste was bland. Maybe because the jam's sugar content, the muffins was a bit too sweet for me. It was pleasant, but wouldnt repeat it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2006
Based on the reviews I made a few changes to try and improve this recipe. I took the milk and heated it with some butter instead of oil. I used peach/raspberry jam and added some clove (approx 1/8 tsp). The mufins were cooked at 340 in convection oven for 20 minutes. Overall I would use many other recipes before doing this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Powell River, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
These were edible, but definitely not a treat. I won't make again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: College Station, Texas, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2006
great idea! Okay taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brenham, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2006
I made these with my preschool class today and they asked if we could put peanut butter in them too. It made sense to me and they were pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
Excellent recipe, and very easy. It took me 10 minutes to make the batter and pop the muffins into the oven. I used splenda, and cut down on the oil. Didn't read the advice about the temperature before hand, so even though I took them out in 20 minutes [ at 400 ], they were over-baked. However, everyone loved them. In fact, by the time I got to the table, there was only one left! I made half with mixed berry jam, the other half with mint jam.. the mint were better. Next time, I'll add some spice / extract to add more flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Braintree, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
It was nice to be able to make something with just the stuff I had on-hand. I took the advise of lowering the temp, and it was just perfect. A spot of tea and jam muffins were the perfect start to this Sunday morning with a guest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States