Jam Kolaches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
This is a family recipe for me as well so I have made literally thousands of these cookies over the years. A few comments/suggestions. First, they aren't the same as danishs so if that's what you are wanting then keep looking. Second, these really should only be made with butter. Margerine just isn't the same. Third, we always prepare the dough the night before and refrigerate it overnight. The dough needs to be cold and rolled as thin as possible. I think this will help with some of the complaints about the cookies not sealing well. Finally Solo filling really is the best. The consistancy is thicker and better suited for these cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
272 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2001
Excellent cookies. Not alot of ingredients, but it still takes awhile to prepare. I used a pasty cutter and cut out small squares instead of circles, they were much easier to overlap over the cookie. Also, I used Solo pie and pasty filling instead of the jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
I loved these they were very easy to make and I only had a few problems with the jelly coming out. Hint: If your dough is not sealing right put a little water on the tip of your fingers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catrinamarie78
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
Very good recipe and easy. I refrigerated the dough overnight, used Solo filling and cut out the cookies with square cutters instead of round. I will definitely make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Food Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wilkes Barre, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2003
I've been searching for this recipe for 10 years! My grandmother called them "Horn a plenty", as a child I only knew they were delicious! I added a bit more butter on the second batch and they were perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2006
These took some time but well worth the effort. I used Simply Fruit apricot and blueberry and they were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by coaches wife
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2005
This was the first time I'd ever tried making Kolaches. These were really easy and really good. We used Cherry Jam and Strawberry Jam. Yummy Yummy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
thought it was unedible, even my dogs would not eat them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shach
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
easy to make once you get past you first dozen. cherry preserves worked best didn't run as much. the key to keep them from opening in rolling dough thin and using both hands to pinch. My family enjoys them alot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
They tasted okay, but they didn't stay overlapped and most of the jam baked out. Solo canned filing might have been better, but how do you keep them from opening up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jam Kolaches

These little Polish cookies can be filled with your favorite jam.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States