Jam Kolaches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
My favorite Christmas cookie recipe. I love to use the Solo almond filling (not paste), it's the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
U Can make these by pressing a center well for the filling and leave the filling exposed. That is the way Mary Jo In Nebraska made them for 50 years They were light and yummy Made with a variety of home made Jams.!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by southernmancooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
these turned out perfectly; very flaky and delicate. I found that if you don't want to use jam or pie filling, preserves work wonderfully. You get the fruit that you would get in pie filling, & it stays in the cookie far better than jam or jelly. I made my cookies a bit larger than they said, and I was able to put 1/2 a tsp of preserves in each cookie without runout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Very good easy cheater recipe but it's not true to the historical cookie. We didn't have cream cheese growing up in Poland, we use a yeast based dough. The traditional filling is plum butter or Powidla, we only used preserves or fresh fruits cooked down to jellied consistency.. The original cookie is much much harder to make and tastes incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Followed directions to a "T", but I did not care for these; used strawberry jam for the filling and by 10 mins. baking time, it had oozed all over the cookie sheet and out of the cookies; I doubt I even used a 1/4 teaspoon of filling, either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
i grew up having these at christmas time...my mom used solo brand apricot filling amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iluvcolorgrd

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Juan Bautista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Dough was sticky and difficult to work with. Ended up tasting like bad shortbread. I think there needs to be a little sugar and salt in the dough. I came across a similar recipe in my grandmother's recipe collection that had the same ingredients and proportions but had sugar and salt as well- so will try that next. Might try Solo filling next time as well. Just wishing they had more flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Hudson, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
I saved this recipe for a few years and finally got to make the jam kolaches...boy they are delicious. I made one mistake..put too much jam and they ran..next batch used less and they were great..one tip I would like to share on thse is ...when the dough was ready I tore a small pice off and rolled it into a ball (use flour to coat your surface first ) and then I rolled it shaping into a circle as i rolled..it was easier than the original recipe called for. thanks for sharing this Polish (which I am ) recipe with us..It tastes just like what my old Auntie used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
These are one of my favorites. My co-workers love them too. One said they are just like his Polish grandmother used to make. Another said they were just like the ones his mother used to make in Romania (although she cut them into squares instead of circles). I suggest using tangier preserves like red currant, another tip from my Romanian friend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
These are fantastic. They taste more like a cookie than a pastry though. If you are looking for the fluffy kind from the bakery, these are not it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jam Kolaches

These little Polish cookies can be filled with your favorite jam.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States