Jam Kolaches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Photo by always4eeyore
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
I have been looking for this recipe for years!!! My mom used to make these when I was real little. I love these cookies. She couldn't remember what recipe I was talking about and I could never find it in any of her cook books. I am so glad I found it! Now I can start making for my family!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by always4eeyore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honesdale, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
This is a family recipe for me as well so I have made literally thousands of these cookies over the years. A few comments/suggestions. First, they aren't the same as danishs so if that's what you are wanting then keep looking. Second, these really should only be made with butter. Margerine just isn't the same. Third, we always prepare the dough the night before and refrigerate it overnight. The dough needs to be cold and rolled as thin as possible. I think this will help with some of the complaints about the cookies not sealing well. Finally Solo filling really is the best. The consistancy is thicker and better suited for these cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
289 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
My family loves them - I have to double the receipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Puella

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
I love these cookies. I made them a few years ago from a cookbook of my mother's and then found the recipe on here. Very simple to make. I used blueberry preserves and they were excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edgewood, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shach
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
easy to make once you get past you first dozen. cherry preserves worked best didn't run as much. the key to keep them from opening in rolling dough thin and using both hands to pinch. My family enjoys them alot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
thought it was unedible, even my dogs would not eat them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
Good but not what I expected. More like a jam filled cookie as opposed to a pastry that I know as a jam kolache. Will make in the future as cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2006
Very dissapointed with this recipe. The dough didn't roll out whatsoever. I ended up having to form the dough into mini muffin tins, and even then the kolaches fell apart when you tried to get them out of the pan. I wasted a nice jar of authentic danish cherry jam on these...such a shame.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2006
These took some time but well worth the effort. I used Simply Fruit apricot and blueberry and they were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
I got rave reviews on these cookies. They were awsome, and easy to put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clovis, California, USA
Living In: Hazel Crest, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jam Kolaches

These little Polish cookies can be filled with your favorite jam.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States