Jam Kolaches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Photo by JoJoWife
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
I made those for Christmas and they came out great. I used Solo canned fruit jam to fill them so the jam doesn't bake or drip out. This is definitely the way to go. My sister added some sugar to the dough because she likes the dough a little sweeter but I keep it as is since the jam adds all the necesary sugar for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoJoWife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Krakow, Lesser Poland, Poland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
This recipe is similar to the one my grandmother made back in Chicago. It is very easy, but use lots of great quality jam. Don't skimp on this part, as there is no sugar in the dough, so to make these extra yummy, be generous with the jam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by always4eeyore
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
I have been looking for this recipe for years!!! My mom used to make these when I was real little. I love these cookies. She couldn't remember what recipe I was talking about and I could never find it in any of her cook books. I am so glad I found it! Now I can start making for my family!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by always4eeyore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honesdale, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
This is a family recipe for me as well so I have made literally thousands of these cookies over the years. A few comments/suggestions. First, they aren't the same as danishs so if that's what you are wanting then keep looking. Second, these really should only be made with butter. Margerine just isn't the same. Third, we always prepare the dough the night before and refrigerate it overnight. The dough needs to be cold and rolled as thin as possible. I think this will help with some of the complaints about the cookies not sealing well. Finally Solo filling really is the best. The consistancy is thicker and better suited for these cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
272 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
My family loves them - I have to double the receipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Puella

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
I love these cookies. I made them a few years ago from a cookbook of my mother's and then found the recipe on here. Very simple to make. I used blueberry preserves and they were excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edgewood, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shach
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
easy to make once you get past you first dozen. cherry preserves worked best didn't run as much. the key to keep them from opening in rolling dough thin and using both hands to pinch. My family enjoys them alot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
thought it was unedible, even my dogs would not eat them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
Good but not what I expected. More like a jam filled cookie as opposed to a pastry that I know as a jam kolache. Will make in the future as cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2006
Very dissapointed with this recipe. The dough didn't roll out whatsoever. I ended up having to form the dough into mini muffin tins, and even then the kolaches fell apart when you tried to get them out of the pan. I wasted a nice jar of authentic danish cherry jam on these...such a shame.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jam Kolaches

These little Polish cookies can be filled with your favorite jam.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States