Jam-filled Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
This was pretty good. I cut down on the sugar, and felt like it was just right. The kind of jam definitely makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiren K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
These are really nice muffins, I just felt when i tasted the batter that it was missing something, so I added 1/2 tsp. of almond extract. I used strawberry jam for the filling and baked for 20 minutes, the end result was just delicious! The consistency of the muffin was just right for my tastes, but I do recommend adding either almond extract or vanilla for that 'something extra'. Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
I thought these were pretty good. Made mine with apricot preserves. I doubled the recipe so I would have enough for leftovers. I subbed half of the butter for applesuce (1/3 c butter, 1/3 c applesauce in a double recipe) These had a texture similar to cornbread. Will definitely make again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
These were really good! I made a few changes - used more jam as recommended, some wheat flour, almond milk, part coconut oil/part butter. I also cut the baking soda to 2 tsp to make them less dense, and they had a cornbread-like consistency. They were also totally done at 20 min. Maybe do a touch less next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel & Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Couldn't help but notice half the people trying this said it had the consistence of cornbread; the other half said it was cakelike. Result? I HAD to try recipe and find out for myself (grin). Halfed recipe, substituted 1/3 butter for applesauce, eyeballed jam, and came out with muffins that had a crumbly cornbread like exterior and a moist cakelike interior. Cracked me up. I like :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
These muffins are very cake-like and sweet. I personally prefer a "healthier" style of muffin that tastes more like breakfast than dessert. That being said, my family absolutely loved them and ate them up quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BURBUJA0512

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
Quick and easy- I did not have a lemon so I used a cap full of vanilla. The family loved them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
Smells and tastes like pancakes or thick biscuits to me. I used black raspberry jam which gave it a delicate sweetness. I cut back on the sugar slightly too. I made 8 big muffins instead of 12 mini muffins. Probably won't make these again, they tasted too much like a biscuit than a muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
These were a little denser than I like, but still delicious. I made them at night with the intention of having them be a quick and easy breakfast before school, but I kid myself if I think *anything* baked will last more than an hour in this house! :-) My husband and son inhaled them and I had to hide some to have any hope of having some for breakfast. I used applesauce in place of the butter, orange extract instead of lemon peel, and sugar free preserves. Next time I'll cut back on the sugar, use WW flour, and double the amount of preserves since the recipe doesn't call for nearly enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
My kids enjoyed these muffins. I have 1 who loved blackberry jam, so I filled 1/2 with blackberry and 1/2 with strawberry. The blackberry ones definitely turned out better looking. When the strawberry ones were cut, you couldn't even tell there was jam in them. I didn't use liners, just greased the muffin tin and they all came out just fine. They all ended up gone at the end of the weekend with all my kids happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States