Jam Filled Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I tried it last weekend. I used regular salted butter, AND I added about 1/8 tsp of salt and two tsp of vanilla extract. I also substituted the 2 egg yolks with one whole egg. (I went by the suggestion of one lady who stated that the recipe needed a boost for flavor. Since I was using salted butter, I used less salt than what she suggested (1/4 tsp). They are easy to make, and they are delicious. I used a small #48 scoop to scoop out the dough onto the sheetpans. I did dip my thumb in flour to lightly coat it before making a nice deep imprint in each cookie. It was much easier that way, and less sticky. I used homemade jelly for these cookies, which makes them extra special in our family. This is the kind of cookie that anyone would enjoy. Kids from ages 3 to 99 will LOVE these cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Carson City, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rachel
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Have made these cookies last couple Christmas and everyone has enjoyed them. This year I'm making them for a charity bake sale at work. Had to make an extra batch for my family at home. They can eat them faster than I can make them and their so simply and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Very good! Smooth and buttery. Easy to make and they look so delicate. I do also suggest adding the vanilla or almond extract and a 1/2 tsp of salt. Best cookies I have made yet. (usually my cookies are an epic fail).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aryas_mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dowagiac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Added a pinch of salt and a splash of vanilla. They needed more than 8 to 10 minutes in the oven. Mine needed about 14 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanny Manny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Photo by METALLICAKATHY
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
Follow the recipe up to the ball-rolling part. Put the leftover egg whites into a bowl and put 3/4 cup chopped walnuts into another bowl. Roll each cookie into a ball, dip it in the egg white then the walnuts to coat, put on the cookie sheet, and continue the recipe as directed. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
I made these with my seven year old son and they were very simple. Hard to mess up. Taste great too. I found cooking time needed to be about 12 minutes before they started to brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Make Sure to roll the balls tightly or they will fall apart when baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
I liked this easy recipe! It's much better with some added flavors: lemon zest, 2 tsp Vanilla extract, and 1/4 tsp almond extract. To make the cookie even prettier, sprinkle the tops with crushed almonds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
My home is filled with the delicious smell of these cookies as I write here.just baked them. WONDERFUL. I added 1/4 tsp cardamom powder (for a change instead of vanila essence). baked some of them with a malted milk ball in each and shaped them like hershey's kisses. even they came out super good.love the versitality of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Loisi
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Don't know why, but I only made dough for a dozen or so. Anyway, tasteful, super yummy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loisi

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Santiago De Compostela, Galicia, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 793) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Peanut Butter Kiss Cookies

See how to make an incredibly easy peanut butter and chocolate cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States