Jam Filled Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Easy, delicious, and fun to experiment with different fillings/ toppings! Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
I added a 1/2 teaspoon of almond extract as per the "Most Helpful Critical Review" suggestion. I looked at other recipes that were similar to this and most of them were calling for almond or vanilla extract. I went with almond extract figuring that it would work well with raspberry, apricot, or strawberry jam. The cookies are delicious! I only had one volcano cookie where the jam broke loose from its cookie containment. A friend of mine just suggested lemon extract to go with the raspberry but I'll only try that if I can find pure lemon extract. There is nothing worse than that fake lemon taste. I'd also cut it down to 1/4 teaspoon or even less since lemon tends to be a stronger flavor. Either way, these are quite delish! I suppose you could even put lemon curd in the center instead of jam. Endless possibility! I used the rounded handle end of my spatula to make the indent for the jam and piped in the jam with a sandwich bag with the end cut off. The leftover jam was easily taken care of by simply squeezing it back into the jar. I'm also considering drizzling chocolate over the tops for a chocolate raspberry cookie or for an orange marmalade dark chocolate drizzled cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
This is my second Christmas making these cookies. Of the 7 types of cookies I make each year these get the best reviews! My friends and family love them! I use 3 types of preserves- peach, strawberry and blackberry. I dust with powdered sugar at the end, too, like another reviewer suggested. These are great and easy to make and stay fresh for a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Lovett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Manchester, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
These are delicious! I did make some changes to the recipe....I slightly reduced the white sugar and added some brown sugar. I, also, used the whole eggs, added vanilla and almond extracts, and added cinnamon to the dough. The dough was not firm enough to roll into balls. I was in a rush, so rather than putting it in the fridge, I used a cookie scoop and then, a small spoon dipped in flour to make the well. It worked perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyssa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Wendell, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
These were great and easy to make. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I've actually been making these with full eggs instead of just egg yolks. I was just going to make them now and noticed that the recipe calls for egg yolks and not full eggs. What is the difference? Can I continue to use full eggs?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
Great cookies, if you add orange or vanilla extract it would be even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Simple and tasty. I did double the recipe and added 1 tsp of almond flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Nice and tasty and easy to make! I drizzed mone with some melted white chocolate after they cooled...perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMIE33

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Photo by tane4ka77
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
so easy and tasty , i made it many times and its always good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tane4ka77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 795) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Peanut Butter Kiss Cookies

See how to make an incredibly easy peanut butter and chocolate cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States