Jam Filled Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Doubled this recipe and got about 5 dozen from it. I used a 1/2 teaspoon measuring spoon dipped in powdered sugar to form the well, then used a heaping 1/4 tablespoon to fill them with jam, and did not have any overfilled. Just be careful not to push the spoon all the way to the bottom or the jam will leak through the hole (still tasty but messy when you try to put it on the cooling rack!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA
Living In: Highland Park, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
These were absolutely delightful cookies. I only made 1 minor change after reading other reviews that the dough was bland. I added 1/4 tsp almond extract to the dough. Other than that I made it exactly how the recipe stated and they were super tasty! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I tried this recipe and give it a definate 5 star. However, its only given the 5 star because of the review posted by Maria Isa. I did use a 1/4 tsp salt & the 2 tsp vanilla. (What kind of cookie recipe doesn't at least have them in it anyway?) HOWEVER, I home can my jelly (not jam) and used blackberry, concord grape (made from red concord grapes) and apple jelly. Made these the best cookies that ever passed my teeth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
A great recipe. I did do some of my own teaks: I added 1/2 tsp of bourbon vanilla to the egg yolks, sugar, butter mixture. I used strawberry preserves, which I ran through my Ninja before adding to the cookie. Advice: Let the butter soften at room temp before using and do not work the dough too much once its mixed or else it will crumble. I baked the cookies for 9 min, they still looked raw on the top but then darkened a little once removed from the oven. I sprinkled powdered sugar over the top. I got 26 cookies from this recipe, next time I will double. Very quick & easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sun1182

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hercules, California, USA
Living In: San Pablo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
This was a great recipe! I added pure vanilla extract and used a baby spoon to fill the cookie holes. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
These cookies are great. I live at 5,200ft and they still came out perfect. I just had to adjust the baking time. 5-6 minutes longer than reccomended. After reading the reviews I too added some vanilla extract. The dough is so soft and fun to work with. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
This recipe one the best cookie vote at the office holiday cookie exchange. Delicious and sure to be a crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ROSALIEK1
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
1 tsp vanilla and 1/2 egg since I use unsalted butter added salt. Filled with a 'blubbery cake and pastry filling'. Needs more vanilla or the extra 1/2 egg poss too much? I enjoyed the recipe thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I made these cookies with my daughter and they didn't come out good at all. I was surprised by all of the reviews saying they came out great. Ours came out like flat pancakes. I used only the ingredients listed on this recipe. Going to look for another recipe and see how they come out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tami
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
These were exactly what I was looking for, a delicate flavour, to showcase my homemade berry and pomegranate jam. I used margarine instead of butter (I can't believe it's not butter), and I added about 1 tsp vanilla, 1/8 tsp salt and a whole egg in place of the 2 yolks as suggested by another reviewer. I believe I will sprinkle these with icing sugar for decoration. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 813) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Peanut Butter Kiss Cookies

See how to make an incredibly easy peanut butter and chocolate cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States