Jam Filled Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
These came out great! I followed another reviewer's advice and added 2 teaspoons of vanilla extract and 1/4 teaspoon of salt to the dough right before adding the flour. Next time, I will try using lemon or almond extract since this is a great basic butter cookie recipe. Using one whole egg instead of two egg yolks will save you some time and won't hurt the recipe. Also, I think using preserves instead of jam helps prevent overflowing during baking so avoid using jam if possible. I used strawberry rhubarb preserves and they were very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kissyblowfish

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Good taste, not extraordinary enough to make 5 stars but a decent cookie and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mclean, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Huge hit at our house! I followed a fellow reviewers advice and used 1 egg instead of the yolks and added 2 teaspoons of vanilla. I also made some icing (1 1/4 cup of powdered sugar and 2 tablespoons of milk) that I ran over the cookies that I filled with raspberry preserves and lemon curd. Couldn't keep them on the plate! New Christmas cookie tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
So easy and quick and delicious! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Yum! Making these for Christmas and followed the advice to add a bit of salt and vanilla. YUM! Can't wait to share them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denison, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Marcos, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Doubled this recipe and got about 5 dozen from it. I used a 1/2 teaspoon measuring spoon dipped in powdered sugar to form the well, then used a heaping 1/4 tablespoon to fill them with jam, and did not have any overfilled. Just be careful not to push the spoon all the way to the bottom or the jam will leak through the hole (still tasty but messy when you try to put it on the cooling rack!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA
Living In: Highland Park, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
These were absolutely delightful cookies. I only made 1 minor change after reading other reviews that the dough was bland. I added 1/4 tsp almond extract to the dough. Other than that I made it exactly how the recipe stated and they were super tasty! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I tried this recipe and give it a definate 5 star. However, its only given the 5 star because of the review posted by Maria Isa. I did use a 1/4 tsp salt & the 2 tsp vanilla. (What kind of cookie recipe doesn't at least have them in it anyway?) HOWEVER, I home can my jelly (not jam) and used blackberry, concord grape (made from red concord grapes) and apple jelly. Made these the best cookies that ever passed my teeth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
A great recipe. I did do some of my own teaks: I added 1/2 tsp of bourbon vanilla to the egg yolks, sugar, butter mixture. I used strawberry preserves, which I ran through my Ninja before adding to the cookie. Advice: Let the butter soften at room temp before using and do not work the dough too much once its mixed or else it will crumble. I baked the cookies for 9 min, they still looked raw on the top but then darkened a little once removed from the oven. I sprinkled powdered sugar over the top. I got 26 cookies from this recipe, next time I will double. Very quick & easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sun1182

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hercules, California, USA
Living In: San Pablo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
This was a great recipe! I added pure vanilla extract and used a baby spoon to fill the cookie holes. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 798) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Peanut Butter Kiss Cookies

See how to make an incredibly easy peanut butter and chocolate cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States