Jam Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I skipped the sugar altogether since the cup of jam, raisins and coconut each make it sweet enough. The cake was delicious the way I made it. Also, like another reviewer suggested, I added in some spices (vanilla, cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves) - I'm afraid without them the cake would have been quite bland. Also, my cake turned completely purple once I added in the preserves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
A truly satisfying cake. I wanted to use up some strawberry jam. I didn't have pecans so I used almonds. One other change was 3/4 of the amount of sugar. I took it right out of the bundt pan and it didn't stick at all. My husband was watching me take it out and he cheered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
i love this recipe. I recently learned how to make it from my grandma who is form Kentucky. She told me they would put in the attic for a week, where it wasn't heated so it would moisten. As far as and icing she taught me to in a pot put a cup of brown sugar and about 2 tbs. of butter and cook till like a syrup. Then poor over, this is where it becomes moist and a sweet topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
he cake was delicious ,but no matter what pan I used it wouldn't stop sticking. Any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by libbybelle1023

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by foodaholic
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
soaked raisins and nuts in whisky (I keep a tub of whiskey soaked raisins in the pantry all the time), added ground cloves, nutmeg and cinamon, sans coconut-my dude doesn't always care for it. I could not stop eating this cake. When you're at the warehouse store and see the two huge jars of blackberry jam, fear not! This recipe will use it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcrae, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
Excellent. I added a little extra coconut and also added some walnuts. Made a glaze to drizzle over and yum. I made it with Splenda and could not even tell it! Will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
I was so disappointed, though the cake baked perfectly and looked so good it was far too sweet and bland, even my husband who likes sweet, agreed, a waste of good ingredients as I threw it out! I was surprised there were no spices in the recipe, I should have followed my instincts and added some and cut back on the sugar. I did not soak the pecans in Bourbon as suggested, maybe I should have! I will stick to the recipe my friend from Kentucky gave me, more work but worth the effort. I tried this one because I had leftover buttermilk from making Soda Bread so was looking for a new way to use it up, but this cake just did not work out for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
I just wish there was a recipe for the icing as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
This is very similar to a recipe that has been handed down in my family for over 100 years. If you think this cake is good the first day, then why don't you put it int he fridge and let it set 3 days. The flavors meld beautifully and it is great cold. I even use it for wedding cakes. It is a stately, elegant, rich cake that will take your breath away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States