Jalapeno Strawberry Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
First time jelly maker here. It was so easy to do. I only made half the recipe so I could try it to see if I liked it. I tried it out with jalapeño poppers and it was delicious. Can't wait to try it with other things and excited to make more. I did substitute 1 cup of strawberries with 1 cup of raspberries. I added extra jalapeños for a little more heat. Both the peppers and berries were fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dishydo
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Time consuming but all canning is. Smelled wonderful while cooking. I made it just like the recipe and yielded 10 half-pints or jelly jars. This is my first time making jelly. I can't wait to try it. I'm going to give out as Christmas time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
Delicious! Family hovered around it. I grow my own tomatoes and needed to use them and was really glad I found this recipe. I was timid at first having never made anything like this but it was easy. It did take 1 1/2 hours to reduce though but totally worth it. Christmas is around the corner and would be great as a gift alone or in a gift basket. Can't wait!! Thank You for reading, Lisa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Great recipe, have made it now with strawberries, cherries, and saskatoons and they are all great. I do not process can mine, just pour into hot jars and it seals fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Great Recipe! FYI - I used the new packaged 1.75 oz. of pectin and it had no significant change to the jelly/jam consistency. I love that you can control the heat by the seeds. Made this with strawberries, but I bet raspberries would be great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Marie B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lisle, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Excellent! I made 2 versions; 1 without seeds and 1 with. Neither were extremely hot however, the batch with the seeds did have some heat and is great served over pork tenderloin, chops or ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by weelass

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
This strawberry jalapeño jam is absolutely fabulous ! I made one batch following recipe as written. And it was delicious every jar was gone within a week ( had guests all week ) . I made another batch but this time I used the seeds and membranes of two of the jalapeños to give it a but of heat ... It was just enough to give it a little zip of heat , but not so hot that it over piers the taste of the berries , I did add the pepper seeds and membranes a little at a time as the jam was cooking, and spooned tiny bits of jam on a n iced cold plate to taste test and added more seeds until it tasted just right . This is one of the easiest and virtually full proof recipes . Be carefull with the amounts of pectin in the boxes. They've reduced the amounts in the boxes so if your used to the standard two oz box, good luck finding it. Most boxes now are 1.1 or 1.5 oz, depending on the brand . I bought the ball pectin in a jar since it's more economical, and for this jam I started with three tablespoons then gradually added a fourth to get the consistency I wanted, per the freezer plate test. A good tip to know is that the amount of juice / liquid your fruit yields after you crush them, effects more or less how much tweaking you need to do with pectin . Just my experience . Anyway, this jam recipe is excellent and make a few batches. It will go !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I made this jam today and it turned out wonderful. I have only tasted a little of it warm before canning, but it was delicious and I can't wait to cook with it. I did add a tiny bit of butter to my second batch to help with the "foam" that can come with jams and jellies, but other than that I followed the recipe exactly. I will absolutely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Riggle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mansfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
I just made a batch of this jam and it taste wonderful. My box of pectin was only 1.7, not 2 oz, but didn't realize until home from the market. I didn't have lemons on hand so used lime juice instead, and though the recipe didn't instruct as to if they deseeded the peppers, or not, I chose to take half out and use half. I grew the berries and peppers myself so were super fresh. I think I'll try to make a batch using some frozen cranberries next!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Powder Springs, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
I hardly ever rate recipes on here, but I couldn't pass this up. I've been searching for jalapeno strawberry jam for almost 3 years after finding it in NC while on vacation with my husband. I have yet to find any around where I live. This is EXACTLY what I've been wanting and is so freaking amazing!!! I will never buy jam from the store again. This is perfection! Btw, this was my first time ever making jam, and it turned out perfectly. Thanks for sharing this delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

How to Make Strawberry Jam

This recipe for fresh jam couldn't be easier—just three basic ingredients!

How to Make Jalapeno Jelly

See how to make a colorful Christmas relish that’s sweet and spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States