Jalapeno Strawberry Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
This strawberry jalapeño jam is absolutely fabulous ! I made one batch following recipe as written. And it was delicious every jar was gone within a week ( had guests all week ) . I made another batch but this time I used the seeds and membranes of two of the jalapeños to give it a but of heat ... It was just enough to give it a little zip of heat , but not so hot that it over piers the taste of the berries , I did add the pepper seeds and membranes a little at a time as the jam was cooking, and spooned tiny bits of jam on a n iced cold plate to taste test and added more seeds until it tasted just right . This is one of the easiest and virtually full proof recipes . Be carefull with the amounts of pectin in the boxes. They've reduced the amounts in the boxes so if your used to the standard two oz box, good luck finding it. Most boxes now are 1.1 or 1.5 oz, depending on the brand . I bought the ball pectin in a jar since it's more economical, and for this jam I started with three tablespoons then gradually added a fourth to get the consistency I wanted, per the freezer plate test. A good tip to know is that the amount of juice / liquid your fruit yields after you crush them, effects more or less how much tweaking you need to do with pectin . Just my experience . Anyway, this jam recipe is excellent and make a few batches. It will go !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I made this jam today and it turned out wonderful. I have only tasted a little of it warm before canning, but it was delicious and I can't wait to cook with it. I did add a tiny bit of butter to my second batch to help with the "foam" that can come with jams and jellies, but other than that I followed the recipe exactly. I will absolutely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Riggle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mansfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
I just made a batch of this jam and it taste wonderful. My box of pectin was only 1.7, not 2 oz, but didn't realize until home from the market. I didn't have lemons on hand so used lime juice instead, and though the recipe didn't instruct as to if they deseeded the peppers, or not, I chose to take half out and use half. I grew the berries and peppers myself so were super fresh. I think I'll try to make a batch using some frozen cranberries next!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Powder Springs, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
I hardly ever rate recipes on here, but I couldn't pass this up. I've been searching for jalapeno strawberry jam for almost 3 years after finding it in NC while on vacation with my husband. I have yet to find any around where I live. This is EXACTLY what I've been wanting and is so freaking amazing!!! I will never buy jam from the store again. This is perfection! Btw, this was my first time ever making jam, and it turned out perfectly. Thanks for sharing this delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
The flavor was great. The jam, however, crystallized, I'm not sure why. I used fresh strawberries and the recommended amount of pectin. It was like the foam on the top just got more in the jars. I have been canning for about 40 years and have never had this happen. I'm still eating it, but I won't be able to give it away....any suggestions as to what to do differently next time?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
I've made this twice and it has set nicely both times. The first batch I followed the recipe as written and although it is delicious.. I wanted a bit more heat. The sweetness of the strawberries overpowers any heat the jalapenos have even with keeping the seeds. The second batch I used a little more jalapeno and it still wasn't quite hot enough. I think I may throw one or two habanero peppers in the next batch (finally a use for those hot peppers!) This is a very good recipe and I like that I can substitute other peppers or mix peppers in order to get the exact taste I desire and still have a pretty jam that sets up well. Great for gifts too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
This will be the second year that I have made this recipe exactly as detailed. I did double it this year so that I would have enough to give as gifts. I used about 3/4 of the seeds. Even my father who hates hotly spiced food will eat this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cammy K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Photo by 01buckler15
Reviewed: May 8, 2014
I gave 4 stars because the original recipe wasn't hot enough for me or my family. I used this as the basis for my jam though. The second time around I chose jalapeño peppers that looked like they would be hotter(and they were) and chopped the tops off and pureed the rest, seeds and all. To get hotter peppers find ones that have what looks like stretch marks on them.(milder peppers are smooth and lighter colored) I cut the sugar in this recipe in half to allow some of the heat from the peppers to stick around. (The sugar tones them down a lot) The last change I made was that I used the Ball pectin that comes in a jar to measure out by tbsp. I like to use low to no sugar added pectin in my jams because I always add a lot less sugar than recipes generally call for. I use almost a tbsp for each cup of strawberries. This time around it came out just like I was hoping for. I think my sister and my aunt will love it! Oh, also I puree my strawberries instead of just mashing them. Which is also why I add more pectin to help it set better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 01buckler15

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
my first time making jam and I made a few mistakes (added sugar at same time as rest of ingredients to cook, didnt cook long enough, and forgot to bubble the jars). First try it didnt set, so after 24 hours I re-processed but added too much pectin and it turned out gummy. It was still delicious however and I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Hope

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Delicious! I find you can adjust the sugar to 6 cups if you prefer a little less sweet. I would recommend more Jalapeño's or adding 1 Habanero pepper for extra spice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skinny State of Mind

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

How to Make Strawberry Jam

This recipe for fresh jam couldn't be easier—just three basic ingredients!

How to Make Jalapeno Jelly

See how to make a colorful Christmas relish that’s sweet and spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States