Jalapeno Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
Anyone with any cooking experience knows that you can't add cheese to an unthickened liquid and expect it to be smooth! All you have to do is heat the soup; add a couple of tablespoons of cornstarch mixed with cold water to thicken it BEFORE adding the cheese. Add the GRATED cheese (not cubed) slowly and stir. It will be as smooth as silk. If it turns out too thick, just thin it with milk to the right consistency. If you're not afraid of MSG, add a teaspoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Okay, very simple to make this right; saute' the onions and celery (and fresh garlic- 2 cloves, minced-forget the garlic salt!) in about 2 tablespoons of corn oil until soft. Add diced Jalapeño, stir and add 2 tablespoons of flour. Cook for about 3 minutes. (It's okay if it seems all clumpy. Just stir and cook.) Now slowly whisk in the chicken broth. bring it to a simmer for a few minutes. Now whisk in the 2 pounds of cheese, but use grated. Add 3 tablespoons of cream at the end. Now you will have a very silky smooth, creamy soup that does not break or separate. Liquid must have a thickening agent in order to incorporate any kind of fat, (such as cheese) I believe the cook here hopes that pulverizing it all with a blender will make it "mash" together enough, and hold just long enough for you to eat it, but it will never have the velvety texture you want for this kind of soup! Top each serving with a little more shredded cheese. Truly very easy and tasty! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Barre, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
if you like hot peppers, you have to try this soup. It is very good! I dont have food processor, but my blender worked great! Very Nummy, and good for my sore throat too! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JNKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olivia, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
I love this recipe and the first time I made it I also had a separation issue when I put the cheese in. Instead of cheddar I use velveeta and I haven't had an issue with it again. I also added some white pepper to the recipe to give it an extra kick. Then I added some cubed chicken. That gave this recipe exactly what it was missing. My family and I love this recipe! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bre

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Well, I have made this twice now. I read the reviews before making it and made adjustments to avoid the separation issue but I still had it. I used Velveeta the 2nd go around and still had separation as you can see in my photo. Not sure what to do about that because I have never found Velveeta to do this? The taste is great if you can get past the separation. One thing I will say is that if you go the Velveeta route, lose the garlic salt and use low sodium broth because that batch ended up really salty. This one has potential for sure but needs tweaked and I haven't perfected the tweaking yet but plan to do so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
This is a good recipe for the most part but I had the problem with seperation also. What I did was I added half a stick of butter, 1 cup of flower and 1 cup of milk. This helped everything come back togather and also made it very creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
5 stars because I love the idea of this recipe! But 3 1/2 - 4 for how I made it. Here's how I made this: 2 Cans Cream of Celery Soup 2 4 oz cans of diced jalapenos 1 C of Chicken Broth 1 C shredded Cheddar Cheese Garlic and onion powder to taste I didn't have the separation problems that everyone else has, probably because the cream of celery soup helped the cheese mix in nicely. The problem I had was it was way to spicy! As my husband said, "Pthis ith way thoo thpicy!" I'm going to make this again, but only with one can of jalapenos and more cheese. My husband did manage to eat all of his (he can't be defeated by spicy food!) I served it with tortillas and a dollop of sour cream on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
For those who are having "separation problems" with this recipe, try an immersion blender. I find that it emulsifies most mixtures that would normally separate. It's so much easier to use than transferring everything to a blender or FP. For another dimension in flavors, try roasted green chile peppers (poblano, anaheim, etc.) They are not as hot as jalapenos and you can truly appreciate the flavor of the chiles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Mine separated too! :( I even did the flour trick and still had about half the cheese make a big glob in the bottom of the pan. The taste is WONDERFUL though, so I must give it 5 stars. It is very spicy. I used jalapeno cheddar cheese and I think that made it. Next time I will use half the cheese and add potato. Jalapeno cheddar potato soup? oh yes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4thegospel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
this soup is not for amateurs... the cheese is extremely difficult to work with, nothing i did (cornstarch, cream, flour, food processor, etc.) helped. I didn't even use half the amount of cheese as the first half I slowly added just clumped on the bottom and i thought it could only get worse.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

How to Make Cream of Cauliflower Soup

See how to make a creamy cauliflower soup garnished with bacon gremolata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States