Jalapeno Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I would give this 5 stars if I didn't have to read reviews in order to cook it right. Also, don't double this recipe...I had thought it was a good idea until I remembered that it takes a lot longer to boil 3 gallons of water than 1 cup. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clara <3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverside, California, USA
Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
After growing peppers all summer, my balcony has been overtaken by hundreds (and I do mean hundreds) of peppers that I can't use up fast enough. I've had this recipe in my recipe box for a while now, and I was excited to test it out. I followed as is, however, I did take one reviewer's suggestion into account about thickening the soup with cold water and corn starch first. I too used shredded cheese (Mexican style blend), and I also added a few diced baby carrots. The end result is a fabulously spicy soup (even though mine separated a little bit, the taste is outstanding). I'll be looking forward to the colder months so I can make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
Taste is amazing.When I read the recipe I assumed it called for velveta because of the lack of thickener. I hate velvita so I just threw all the ing. in the pot ( I used fresh garlic and only one large pepper) I also left the leaves on the celery. Gives a great taste to any soup. Added my thickener ( water and flower) to the pot and boiled for 30 min. Then added a splash of milk and a bad of shredded chz! MY NEW FAVORITE SOUP EVER! And really cheep!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Mine separated too! :( I even did the flour trick and still had about half the cheese make a big glob in the bottom of the pan. The taste is WONDERFUL though, so I must give it 5 stars. It is very spicy. I used jalapeno cheddar cheese and I think that made it. Next time I will use half the cheese and add potato. Jalapeno cheddar potato soup? oh yes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4thegospel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
this soup is not for amateurs... the cheese is extremely difficult to work with, nothing i did (cornstarch, cream, flour, food processor, etc.) helped. I didn't even use half the amount of cheese as the first half I slowly added just clumped on the bottom and i thought it could only get worse.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Okay, very simple to make this right; saute' the onions and celery (and fresh garlic- 2 cloves, minced-forget the garlic salt!) in about 2 tablespoons of corn oil until soft. Add diced Jalapeño, stir and add 2 tablespoons of flour. Cook for about 3 minutes. (It's okay if it seems all clumpy. Just stir and cook.) Now slowly whisk in the chicken broth. bring it to a simmer for a few minutes. Now whisk in the 2 pounds of cheese, but use grated. Add 3 tablespoons of cream at the end. Now you will have a very silky smooth, creamy soup that does not break or separate. Liquid must have a thickening agent in order to incorporate any kind of fat, (such as cheese) I believe the cook here hopes that pulverizing it all with a blender will make it "mash" together enough, and hold just long enough for you to eat it, but it will never have the velvety texture you want for this kind of soup! Top each serving with a little more shredded cheese. Truly very easy and tasty! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Barre, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
5 stars because I love the idea of this recipe! But 3 1/2 - 4 for how I made it. Here's how I made this: 2 Cans Cream of Celery Soup 2 4 oz cans of diced jalapenos 1 C of Chicken Broth 1 C shredded Cheddar Cheese Garlic and onion powder to taste I didn't have the separation problems that everyone else has, probably because the cream of celery soup helped the cheese mix in nicely. The problem I had was it was way to spicy! As my husband said, "Pthis ith way thoo thpicy!" I'm going to make this again, but only with one can of jalapenos and more cheese. My husband did manage to eat all of his (he can't be defeated by spicy food!) I served it with tortillas and a dollop of sour cream on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
For those who are having "separation problems" with this recipe, try an immersion blender. I find that it emulsifies most mixtures that would normally separate. It's so much easier to use than transferring everything to a blender or FP. For another dimension in flavors, try roasted green chile peppers (poblano, anaheim, etc.) They are not as hot as jalapenos and you can truly appreciate the flavor of the chiles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Well, I have made this twice now. I read the reviews before making it and made adjustments to avoid the separation issue but I still had it. I used Velveeta the 2nd go around and still had separation as you can see in my photo. Not sure what to do about that because I have never found Velveeta to do this? The taste is great if you can get past the separation. One thing I will say is that if you go the Velveeta route, lose the garlic salt and use low sodium broth because that batch ended up really salty. This one has potential for sure but needs tweaked and I haven't perfected the tweaking yet but plan to do so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
Anyone with any cooking experience knows that you can't add cheese to an unthickened liquid and expect it to be smooth! All you have to do is heat the soup; add a couple of tablespoons of cornstarch mixed with cold water to thicken it BEFORE adding the cheese. Add the GRATED cheese (not cubed) slowly and stir. It will be as smooth as silk. If it turns out too thick, just thin it with milk to the right consistency. If you're not afraid of MSG, add a teaspoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

How to Make Cream of Cauliflower Soup

See how to make a creamy cauliflower soup garnished with bacon gremolata.

Southwest Tortilla Soup

Discover time-saving tricks for making delicious tortilla soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States