Jalapeno Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
WOW! This is the kind of salsa you sweat while you cook and eat! I took some other reviewers advice and roasted the jalapenos in the oven, as well as the onions and garlic. I doubled the recipe because I had so many peppers from my garden and used a whole bulb of garlic and I think it's great. I'm freezing some in ice cube trays to put in chili once the weather cools down, I know it'll be the perfect addition. Great recipe with tons of uses!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mskenzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Iowa, USA
Living In: Fort Dodge, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
This recipe is really good. I prefer it spicier so I used a lot of jarred jalapeños and 1 and 1/2 fresh wax peppers. It tastes better with more lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
This has the potential to pack some serious heat! I erred on the side of caution and only used 7 jalapenos, deseeding all but two and it was plenty hot for me. I also subbed 1/2 tsp sea salt for regular salt. My husband said it was just as good, if not better, than the green salsa served in Mexican restaurants. Thank you for sharing such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
I loved this salsa, my family loved this salsa. I did add to the recipe a bit. I added more jalapenos, I added a few tabasco peppers and a few green chile's. Being from NM, we like it mega hot! Plus I had an abundance of all three of the above peppers and needed something to do with them!! I also doubled the garlic. I used dry cilantro and used only 1 and a half tsps. This recipe was very yummy, however, I think next time I will use a bit less onion and see how it tastes. I also think that the next time I make it, I will process it so I can make more and keep it for a longer period of time. Very, very easy recipe to make, thumbs up!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
This recipe is a great way to use up jalapenos! We tripled the recipe, but only used 20 seeded jalapenos - it was still really hot! We just put all the peppers and tomatoes right on a charcoal grill and flipped them around until they were dark all over. We skinned the tomatoes but not the jalapenos. I do think this recipe could use more garlic - we doubled the garlic and roasted it, but still could have used more. I used yellow onions, because that's all we had on hand. My husband thinks this is the best salsa he's ever had, and it was so easy to make in the food processor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
It tastes amazing, but is extremely hot! I still loved it, so not going to knock stars for the surprise. I definitely plan on making it more in the future, but will probably de-seed all but two of the jalapenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matthew Brown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
I modified this recipe a bit. I use 12 jalapenos, 6 tomatillos, 1 onion, 1 bulb of garlic, juice from 4 limes, 1 tbls olive oil, a healthy amount of cilantro (never measure it, I just put in tons!) a bit of garlic salt, about a tbls of white vinegar. blend everything in a food processor then simmer it on the stove for about a half an hour and jar it up. I get 3 regular mason jars out of it and use it on taco salad. Thanks for the great recipe! I go through a batch in about 2 weeks and am now adding a ghost pepper to the mix to give it more heat and that nice smokey flavor from the jolokia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
Excellent and YUMMY salsa! Great for tacos, chili, and corn chips. Also it is very simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEEF JERKY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
Great recipe! You could swear it was made with tomatillos. As others have mentioned, the heat is moderately hot. Since my wife has a much lower heat tolerance than I, I made a separate batch, substituting 3 Anaheim peppers for the 12 jalapenos; she also thought it delicious. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RepairedHam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ontario, California, USA
Living In: Galena, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
HOT!!! And love it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by raytnla
Home Town: Euless, Texas, USA
Living In: Gonzales, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Cinco de Mayo Salsa Cruda

See Chef Juan’s secret recipe for Cinco de Mayo-worthy homemade salsa cruda.

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States