Jalapeno Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
Boiling works fine, but you can really punch this up with a smoky flavor by roasting the peppers and even the tomatoes on the grill until the skins turns brown and is easy to remove. (Just cut a small X on the bottom of the tomato to help the skin slide off.) After roasting the skins, just place the veggies in a paper bag and let them steam for a bit, then remove the skins with a paper towel. I always use gloves to skin the peppers! Here in Tucson, AZ, chiles and peppers are plentiful and can be super-hot! You can knock back the heat by removing the membranes and seeds from the jalapenos, just use the flesh. My blender/processor does not like cilantro unless its been pretty chopped up first; the stems tend to just go 'round in circles and never chop up. I only add 1/2 lime, increase garlic to 5 bulbs (but we LOVE garlic!) and to make a more authentic verde flavor, I add roasted green chiles, skinned and seeded, with a 1/2 teaspoon of cumin. Finally, let it sit in the refrigerator for an hour, then taste...you may want more lime at that point. Since there are many natural variables that will affect the heat of this basic salsa, be ready to punch up the heat with 1/4 teaspoon of cayenne or knock it down with sour cream, greek yogurt or even avocado. This is a great basic recipe that you can make your own! Keep covered in the refrigerator, and watch out...it can get hotter the longer it sits. Thanks, Trey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellie may

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelbyville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
I'm from Tucson too! I haven't tried this recipe yet but it sounds like it could be good, especially with the suggestions given by Ellie May.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
This has the potential to pack some serious heat! I erred on the side of caution and only used 7 jalapenos, deseeding all but two and it was plenty hot for me. I also subbed 1/2 tsp sea salt for regular salt. My husband said it was just as good, if not better, than the green salsa served in Mexican restaurants. Thank you for sharing such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
This salsa tasted like something we would get from our local Taqueria! The heat starts subtly and builds. At times it was too much for me - which is why I gave it 4 stars. My husband, on the other hand, embraced my challenge to eat spoonfuls of this and gave it a 5 after downing some milk :) We used 10 fresh jalapenos to 4 tomatoes with a medium sized bunch of cilantro. I initially used it to dress taco salads, but we ended up eating the majority of it with tortilla chips (and a healthy dollop of sour cream).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
WOW! This is the kind of salsa you sweat while you cook and eat! I took some other reviewers advice and roasted the jalapenos in the oven, as well as the onions and garlic. I doubled the recipe because I had so many peppers from my garden and used a whole bulb of garlic and I think it's great. I'm freezing some in ice cube trays to put in chili once the weather cools down, I know it'll be the perfect addition. Great recipe with tons of uses!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mskenzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Iowa, USA
Living In: Fort Dodge, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
This recipe is a great way to use up jalapenos! We tripled the recipe, but only used 20 seeded jalapenos - it was still really hot! We just put all the peppers and tomatoes right on a charcoal grill and flipped them around until they were dark all over. We skinned the tomatoes but not the jalapenos. I do think this recipe could use more garlic - we doubled the garlic and roasted it, but still could have used more. I used yellow onions, because that's all we had on hand. My husband thinks this is the best salsa he's ever had, and it was so easy to make in the food processor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
SO delish! Next time I will use a little less black pepper, but it's overall pretty amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by moaa
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
Seriously hot even when seeding some jalapenos. I will let my husband be the judge of that since our spice level differ but for sure, I will make some more when we have a get together to test out who's the biggest wimp lol. I wanted to charr my jalapeno's/tomatoes on the grill but it wasn't working, so I pan roasted it intsead and covered it. Also, used kosher salt and doubled the garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
Excellent and YUMMY salsa! Great for tacos, chili, and corn chips. Also it is very simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEEF JERKY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
This recipe is really good. I prefer it spicier so I used a lot of jarred jalapeños and 1 and 1/2 fresh wax peppers. It tastes better with more lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Cinco de Mayo Salsa Cruda

See Chef Juan’s secret recipe for Cinco de Mayo-worthy homemade salsa cruda.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States