Jalapeno Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
This is a plate of spicy creamy yumminess. To reduce fat and calories I subbed chicken broth for the milk and after it thickened I stirred in the jalapenos, shredded velveta, and 1/4 cup of fat-free sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by linda2d
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I made this in November for recipe group, with some changes, but wanted to make it as written before reviewing it since I thought it might matter in this instance. I liked the changes and would make it again with them. As written, my potatoes didn't have a good texture but it may have been a "bad" batch white potatoes. It was also too hot for me with the full can of jalapenos. Not too hot to handle but not pleasant and overpowered the other flavors. However, the first time I steamed (in microwave) red potatoes instead of white and used fresh jalapenos instead of the canned. They were excellent- not as hot (maybe the jalapenos were milder) and didn't have the canned taste. The added bonus of cooking the potatoes this way is using the same dish for all the cooking except the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Made for Recipe Group. I left out the pimentos and layered the potatoes in a 13x9. I liked this much better the next day. The taste of the canned peppers gave it a weird taste, but much better after it sat and melded flavors. The guys loved it from the get go! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Made these for Recipe Group...Delicious! The cheese sauce came out so smooth and creamy, and the heat from the jalapenos gave these just enough of a spicy kick. Hubby really raved over these, but I already knew he was gonna love them, lol. These are a definite keeper~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
I thought the recipe was really good, even though I left out the pimentos. It was a really nice change from every day potato recipes. I think the cheese base could be used many different ways too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
This recipe was great for the over abundance of jalapeños in my garden, at the moment. In fact, my family enjoyed these potatoes so much; I will freeze diced fresh jalapeños to make this in the winter months. I admit to using fresh jalapeños rather than canned. I also used white sharp cheddar because that is what I had on hand. Rather than layering all the potatoes then adding the sauce, I put a layer of potatoes in the dish, added cheese sauce, potatoes, cheese sauce, etc. I had 4 layers of potatoes and poured the remaining cheese sauce over the top. The potatoes were served with ‘Pittsburgh Ham Barbecues’ another AR recipe. My dad came to dinner tonight and he thought the meal was delicious. Potatoes will be a repeat in our house. Thanks LilSnoo for sharing your recipe – it is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
I am trying this one tonight. Looks good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
I used red potatoes 'cuz that's what I had on hand. I didn't have 4oz jar of jalapenos. I had 2 fresh jalapenos, took out the seeds and chopped up. Tasted just like scalloped potatoes but more cheesy and spice. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsboro, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2012
This is a great basic recipe and was very quick and easy because of first boiling the potatoes. I did not have fresh peppers so I substituted 1/8 tsp. cayenne powder and 1/8 tsp. red chili pepper flakes. My husband gave it the thumbs up and my three year old seemed pleased. Will certainly make again! Thank you for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Good, but very, very spicy. Don't get me wrong - I love spicy food. Maybe my peppers were extra hot, since I used home grown jalapeno peppers (canned). I may make these again, but will cut back on the peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crusty Herb Potato Wedges

See how to make perfect baked potato wedges with a crispy crust.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Potato and Parsnip Gratin

A rich gratin with potatoes, parsnips, and Parmesan cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States