Jalapeno Poppers of Champions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
You KNOW a dish is good when it's gone in the first five minutes... a big hit at the Superbowl party, these puppies didn't last long enough to see kickoff! I took a tip from another reviewer and used real bacon, then upped the temp to 375 and the cook time to 25-30 minutes. I will DEFINITELY be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kazoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
My soon to be hubby loves this! I added some pepper and garlic salt to the cream cheese and they were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodstock, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
This is the first time I have attempted anything like this and, being a novice cook, I was very pleased with the results. I did heed the other reviews and wore gloves. I wanted to try this before my New Year's Party and I'm glad I did. I baked the sutffed peppers for 35 minutes at 400 degrees, using thick cut bacon stips cut in half. I also lined the baking pan with wax paper for easy cleanup and put the peppers on a baking rack. After 35 minutes the bacon was done but not crispy. They were easy to bite through and not messy or gooey. However, the cream cheese was a little bland, I'm going to pep this up a bit for the party , use a full strip of bacon on my extra big (5") jalapenos and add some spices to the cream cheese. I just don't know what kind yet! Overall, this was an easy recipie and I will deffinately use it again with some slight modifications. Thanks for a delicious appetizer for my party. The men who are not watching thier weight will love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
DELICIOUS! We used pineapple cream cheese and panchetta (italian bacon, found in most deli meat sections). I know the pineapple cream cheese sounds weird, but the combination of sweet and spicy is perfect! yum yum yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
I've been making these poppers for a few years and they are awesome. I usually use about 9 for a tub of honey nut cream cheese. I probably have a little more ooze but they are so good. Thin sliced bacon seems to work best. I definitely recommend trying the honeu nut cream cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
I've made these twice; the first time I followed the recipe exactly, using some “facon” (fake bacon) to wrap around the jalapenos. They came out very good. The second time my hubby requested that I not take out all of the seeds and veins, and requested that I use turkey bacon. Clearly, this was a bad decision. Holy moly, they were burnin’ hot. The turkey bacon was alright, but frankly it didn’t taste any different to me than the facon. Thanks for the great recipe, and I will be sure to abide by your directions next time and take out the seeds and membranes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sonoma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
This is now what I'm expected to bring to gatherings with family/friends
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsHappyHomemaker
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
I have never made these with vegetarian bacon, and I know I never will - real bacon is required for this dish in my opinion! I add some shredded cheddar cheese & chopped green onions - and brush some bbq sauce on top of the bacon, and its just one of those addictive foods you can't stop eating. I give the recipe a 3-4 star as written, but a 5 star plus with a couple modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsHappyHomemaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staley, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Asheboro, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
This was a hit with my family. I mixed seasonings (cayanne pepper, chipolte pepper and salt) in the cream cheese to give it a kick. I also used real bacon. I put the mixture in a ziploc bag and cut a hole in it so that I could easily put the cream cheese inside each pepper. I do recommend using gloves. I didnt and my hands were on fire by the time I finished removing the seeds~!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alleyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
I also used the ready cooked bacon. These were wonderful!! I made them for my husband and myself and they were yummy. He even liked them and he doesnt like Jalapenos! Make sure you use a good bacon since most of the flavor does come from the bacon. The only thing i did that was different was cut the bacon in half and lay it on top of the pepper half since i dont like to much bacon. very yummy....will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BlueSkys2310

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon-Wrapped Jalapeno Poppers

Creamy, cheesy, spicy bite-size party appetizers.

Best Ever Jalapeno Poppers

See how to make the perfect party appetizer.

Jalapeno Popper Spread

It tastes just like the jalapeno poppers you love!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States