Jalapeno Poppers of Champions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
Could these poppers BE any better? I did make with bacon and there are 2 tips I have to offer when using real bacon: 1) Cook at 375 to 400 for about 30 mins, depending on how crispy you like the bacon. (at the 12 minute mark using 350 degrees, my bacon was raw) 2) Use a fatter, rounder cocktail toothpick and soak them in water for about 30 mins before using so that the bacon grease doesnt burn them in the oven. I will be making again. The men last night devoured these in about 20 minutes. So simple and so good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
190 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ValleyGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
I've made these four times now and use Philadephia cream cheese with chives. I also use regular bacon and just cut a slice into thirds and place it directly on top of the cream cheese filled jalapenos - a whole lot easier than wrapping them around each half and having to use a toothpick, You can also crank up the oven to 400.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Ramon, California, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
This was great, and so easy! I used real bacon and I baked on a rack over a jelly roll pan in the oven to help drain off some of the grease. Thanks for the idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
Have never made this recipe with the vegetarian bacon but I do make this recipe with the real stuff. The only thing we do different is to grill them. They are awsome, just make sure you wrap the bacon around the cream cheese and secure it well with the toothpick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
I made this for my potluck at work. Excellent! If you want mild poppers make sure you take out ALL the seeds! I used half slices of hickory smoked thick cut bacon. Remember to spoon off the grease every 10 minutes or you can try cooking them on a broiler pan. Don't forget to wear gloves when cutting up the peppers. I didn't. I couldn't put my contacts in for days. haha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
I really shouldn't be reviewing because I changed the recipe so much, but I used real bacon and broiled them in the toaster oven. They were exactly what they sound like - cream cheese filled jalepeno wrapped in bacon. I think I was expecting the flavors to blend some more. I will try flavored cream cheese or use others' suggestions of spicing up the cream cheese with garlic powder or something. I also didn't need to use any toothpicks - the raw bacon sticks together when wrapped around the jalapeno and stayed that way in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
AWESOME. Would give 10 stars if possible. I used real bacon and didn't need to use toothpicks, didn't leak at all. Word of advice, wear gloves, if you wear contacts then you need to wear gloves. Learned my lesson. You will love this recipe it is a no fail snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
These were a huge hit this weekend. I added parsley flakes, garlic salt, and a small amount of grated cheddar to spice it up a bit. I also cut my real bacon in thin strips instead of using 1 big piece. I will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LALASCATS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
These were excellent & easy to do. I baked about twice as long as called for to make sure they were cooked all the way (I'm too chicken & was afraid they'd be too hot for me!!) Also used turkey bacon. GREAT recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARMYWIFE99

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sturgis, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
Excellent! My aunt makes these quite often and they're even good cold. I made them last night with real bacon and cooked them on a sheet of aluminum on the grill (for about 20 minutes but a little less would have been fine). I didn't use toothpicks and can see where they would have been helpful but definitely not necessary. WARNING: WEAR GLOVES when prepping your peppers. I ended up with Capsaicin in the pores of my hands and would not wish that on anyone - it took over 12 hours for the burning to subside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Jalapeno Poppers

See how to make the perfect party appetizer.

Jalapeno Popper Spread

It tastes just like the jalapeno poppers you love!

Sausage-Stuffed Cherry Pepper Poppers

See how to make cherry peppers stuffed with Italian sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States