Jalapeno Poppers of Champions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
I've been making these poppers for a few years and they are awesome. I usually use about 9 for a tub of honey nut cream cheese. I probably have a little more ooze but they are so good. Thin sliced bacon seems to work best. I definitely recommend trying the honeu nut cream cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
I've made these twice; the first time I followed the recipe exactly, using some “facon” (fake bacon) to wrap around the jalapenos. They came out very good. The second time my hubby requested that I not take out all of the seeds and veins, and requested that I use turkey bacon. Clearly, this was a bad decision. Holy moly, they were burnin’ hot. The turkey bacon was alright, but frankly it didn’t taste any different to me than the facon. Thanks for the great recipe, and I will be sure to abide by your directions next time and take out the seeds and membranes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sonoma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
This is now what I'm expected to bring to gatherings with family/friends
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsHappyHomemaker
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
I have never made these with vegetarian bacon, and I know I never will - real bacon is required for this dish in my opinion! I add some shredded cheddar cheese & chopped green onions - and brush some bbq sauce on top of the bacon, and its just one of those addictive foods you can't stop eating. I give the recipe a 3-4 star as written, but a 5 star plus with a couple modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsHappyHomemaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staley, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Asheboro, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
This was a hit with my family. I mixed seasonings (cayanne pepper, chipolte pepper and salt) in the cream cheese to give it a kick. I also used real bacon. I put the mixture in a ziploc bag and cut a hole in it so that I could easily put the cream cheese inside each pepper. I do recommend using gloves. I didnt and my hands were on fire by the time I finished removing the seeds~!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alleyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
I also used the ready cooked bacon. These were wonderful!! I made them for my husband and myself and they were yummy. He even liked them and he doesnt like Jalapenos! Make sure you use a good bacon since most of the flavor does come from the bacon. The only thing i did that was different was cut the bacon in half and lay it on top of the pepper half since i dont like to much bacon. very yummy....will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BlueSkys2310

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
These are quite excellent. I used whole peppers and removed the stem and just enough of the inside so that I could stuff them full of cream cheese. I used light cream cheese so that the heat of the oven wouldn't cause the cheese to run out all over the baking sheet. I also used real bacon...one slice per pepper. Oh my, were they good! There were enough of the seeds left inside the peppers to give them a definite kick! I'll make these again and again. I didn't time the cooking time but baked them until the bacon looked crispy. Probably about 30 - 45 minutes. Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
this recipe was a great start to a great popper! i added worsitishire (sp?) sauce and granulated garlic and a little bit of salt. also you can add the seeds back for some hottness! and added some shredded chedder. wrapped them inbaon and laid them on the grill until bacon was done. Yummo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
I've never tried these particular ones, but when my family was here from New Orleans, my stepson made some similar. After seeding and removing the membranes to make the peppers milder (to my dismay, lol) he also added some cheddar on top of the cream cheese before wrapping in the regular meat bacon. YUM YUM YUM. A big hit that I'll make for a long time to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
With only three ingredients, these looked too good to be true. I used real bacon, cooked in the microwave just until done and pliable. I added another minute or two to the oven cooking time. The only suggestion I have is to list the serving size as more than only one - just try to eat only one of these!! Only three of us inhaled all 18 rather quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Jalapeno Poppers

See how to make the perfect party appetizer.

Jalapeno Popper Spread

It tastes just like the jalapeno poppers you love!

Sausage-Stuffed Cherry Pepper Poppers

See how to make cherry peppers stuffed with Italian sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States