Jalapeno Poppers of Champions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
I've been making these for years, but with real bacon. I have a few tips to offer after many, many times making these. First, for a quicker cook time in the oven, I lightly pre cook my bacon. I've found that the bacon can take a long time in the oven and these things go fast in a crowd so I usually always have a second batch that needs to be made. I cook the bacon until about half done and then follow the recipe as directed. Second, I line a cookie sheet with foil, and then place my bacon wrapped poppers on a wire rack, directly over the foil lined pan. This way the grease drips down from the bacon. Lastly, for those that are extra sensitive to hot peppers, I recommend using gloves while handling the jalapeños. I've had a few experiences where my hand were on "fire" for hours after handling the peppers! Other then that, these are ALWAYS a crowd pleaser and I constantly get asked to bring these to parties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
I'm going to enlighten you all. Put the poppers in a cold oven then heat the oven to 400. Your bacon will be crispy not soggy. And add some sundries tomatoes and garlic to the cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
We do like these but the baking time is not long enough. I baked them for 40 minutes at 375F. on a rack and they were just right. This would have been 5 stars but for the baking time being so far off. Used regular thin sliced bacon and added 1/4 package of ranch dressing mix to the cream cheese. Next time I'll add garlic powder to it, also. Maybe garlic salt because, oddly enough, they seemed to lack salt. I only had 10 fairly large jalapenos and had enough filling for about 12 (24 halves). It doesn't work to overfill the halves because the cream cheese swells and the excess simply falls in the bottom of the pan. I was glad to be able to serve these without the breading and deep frying. Atkins dieters alert: This is a good appetizer for that diet. P.S. Removing seeds and membranes from your peppers gives you a pretty mellow product. Also, the longer they sit before you bake them the more mild they are. I think our 2 year old grandson would have eaten and liked these. You're left with only the flavor of the jalapeno, not the heat. I used lightweight rubber gloves to prepare these and washed my hands with soap with them on as I went from step to step. You don't want the pepper juice all over everything and it does burn if it gets in your eyes. Happy Football Season and thanks, Seahawks Fan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rapid River, Michigan, USA
Living In: Readfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
I used real bacon too and another similar recipe on here also includes topping each bacon wrapped pepper with some brown sugar which helps cut the heat even more and the candy the bacon!!! I also use herb/garlic cream cheese from time to time for a little extra favor. SO GOOD!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
The bacon did not cook in the 20 minutes I had to cook them. In 28 minutes the bacon was still not crispy but the bottoms were getting hard and I had to serve them with the bacon still partially soft. Next time I I'm going to cook the bacon first until half way cooked but still pliable enough to wrap around poppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Leanna Rosinski
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
This recipe was good. I used Anaheim peppers instead of jalapenos because sometimes jalapenos are too spicy for me. I added one cup of shredded monterrey jack cheese to the cream cheese. I also used real bacon. For some crunch I crushed up some homemade tortilla chips and coated the cream cheese side of the peppers before wrapping them in bacon. I pan-fried them before putting them in the oven to get em crispy and render off some of the fat. They were good, but I will probably tweak the recipe some more next time to add more flavor. Great starter recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leanna Rosinski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tinley Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
Awesome recipe! absolutely delicious! I had to leave the poppers in the oven longer than the recipe calls for in order to thoroughly cook the bacon but it was worth it!! So good and I wish I had made more, my brothers ate all of them when my back was turned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
Tip of the hat to ya :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rsloverii

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
great recipe! i added a packet of hidden valley ranch dry mix ;) to the cream cheese. yum! Oh and i depleated some heat by boiling halved and seeded jumbo jalapenos in boiling water for 5 minutes prior to filling them :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
This recipe was so easy to follow for the first time making these! I even added mild and spicy sausage to the cream cheese to put in the jalapeno halfs. They went quick when i made them for a super bowl party last year. It was requested for this year!! Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manhattan, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon-Wrapped Jalapeno Poppers

Creamy, cheesy, spicy bite-size party appetizers.

Best Ever Jalapeno Poppers

See how to make the perfect party appetizer.

Jalapeno Popper Spread

It tastes just like the jalapeno poppers you love!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States