Jalapeno Poppers of Champions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
Could these poppers BE any better? I did make with bacon and there are 2 tips I have to offer when using real bacon: 1) Cook at 375 to 400 for about 30 mins, depending on how crispy you like the bacon. (at the 12 minute mark using 350 degrees, my bacon was raw) 2) Use a fatter, rounder cocktail toothpick and soak them in water for about 30 mins before using so that the bacon grease doesnt burn them in the oven. I will be making again. The men last night devoured these in about 20 minutes. So simple and so good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
195 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ValleyGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
I've made these four times now and use Philadephia cream cheese with chives. I also use regular bacon and just cut a slice into thirds and place it directly on top of the cream cheese filled jalapenos - a whole lot easier than wrapping them around each half and having to use a toothpick, You can also crank up the oven to 400.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Ramon, California, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
This was great, and so easy! I used real bacon and I baked on a rack over a jelly roll pan in the oven to help drain off some of the grease. Thanks for the idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
Have never made this recipe with the vegetarian bacon but I do make this recipe with the real stuff. The only thing we do different is to grill them. They are awsome, just make sure you wrap the bacon around the cream cheese and secure it well with the toothpick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
I really shouldn't be reviewing because I changed the recipe so much, but I used real bacon and broiled them in the toaster oven. They were exactly what they sound like - cream cheese filled jalepeno wrapped in bacon. I think I was expecting the flavors to blend some more. I will try flavored cream cheese or use others' suggestions of spicing up the cream cheese with garlic powder or something. I also didn't need to use any toothpicks - the raw bacon sticks together when wrapped around the jalapeno and stayed that way in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
I made this for my potluck at work. Excellent! If you want mild poppers make sure you take out ALL the seeds! I used half slices of hickory smoked thick cut bacon. Remember to spoon off the grease every 10 minutes or you can try cooking them on a broiler pan. Don't forget to wear gloves when cutting up the peppers. I didn't. I couldn't put my contacts in for days. haha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
AWESOME. Would give 10 stars if possible. I used real bacon and didn't need to use toothpicks, didn't leak at all. Word of advice, wear gloves, if you wear contacts then you need to wear gloves. Learned my lesson. You will love this recipe it is a no fail snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
These were a huge hit this weekend. I added parsley flakes, garlic salt, and a small amount of grated cheddar to spice it up a bit. I also cut my real bacon in thin strips instead of using 1 big piece. I will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LALASCATS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
As many have said I use real bacon (will have to try vegetarian when my vegetarian mother comes to visit!!! good idea) but I would also suggest instead of halving the Jalepenos just cut the top off the jalepenos and use a cheap oldschool metal peeler to scrape the inards out of the jalepeno.... saves alot of time! Two other comments: 1- WEAR GLOVES (or you will wind up like me crying in the shower trying to rinse my face) 2- Fun fact: did you know that the pointier the tip of the jalepeno, in general, is an indicator of it's hotness? If you are looking for more mild peppers pick the bluntest ended ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
These were excellent & easy to do. I baked about twice as long as called for to make sure they were cooked all the way (I'm too chicken & was afraid they'd be too hot for me!!) Also used turkey bacon. GREAT recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy Hopkins

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sturgis, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Jalapeno Poppers

See how to make the perfect party appetizer.

Jalapeno Popper Spread

It tastes just like the jalapeno poppers you love!

Sausage-Stuffed Cherry Pepper Poppers

See how to make cherry peppers stuffed with Italian sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States