Jalapeno Poppers of Champions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
These were great. People still ask us to bring them to parties. One change we made was we added a bit of shredded mozzarella to the cream cheese to give a bit of a stringy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Made this for opening of the 2014 NFL season. It was a HUGE hit and comments such as "Amazing"! I did add a couple of extra touches such as; chopped green onions, minced garlic and cheddar cheese to the softened cream cheese. If you have a baking rack to lay on top a sheet pan it really helps to make bacon crisper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
This without a doubt are the favorite at our house. I use pineapple cream cheese and it gives a whole new dimension to the flavors. Sweet, salty, fruity and completely yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I've been making this recipe for years now. Every time I do it a little differently- sometimes I'll cook up some shrimp and scallops, dice it, and throw it into the cream cheese. There have never been any left overs in the dozens of times I've made this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Delicious, cheap, and relatively easy to make! I also use regular bacon and turn up the oven to 400.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
So simple and always the hit of the party, I use real bacon and they turn out fantastic maybe its just my oven but they take closer to 25 minutes then to 12 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Thought I would like these but the fake bacon was awful!! I've had these with real bacon and that's the way to go. I'm always looking for healthy versions of recipes but this was NOT something I'd make again. I keep trying veggie bacon in recipes but I think I'm going to stop trying to substitute bacon and all it's lovely badness!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
I've been making these for years, but with real bacon. I have a few tips to offer after many, many times making these. First, for a quicker cook time in the oven, I lightly pre cook my bacon. I've found that the bacon can take a long time in the oven and these things go fast in a crowd so I usually always have a second batch that needs to be made. I cook the bacon until about half done and then follow the recipe as directed. Second, I line a cookie sheet with foil, and then place my bacon wrapped poppers on a wire rack, directly over the foil lined pan. This way the grease drips down from the bacon. Lastly, for those that are extra sensitive to hot peppers, I recommend using gloves while handling the jalapeños. I've had a few experiences where my hand were on "fire" for hours after handling the peppers! Other then that, these are ALWAYS a crowd pleaser and I constantly get asked to bring these to parties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
I'm going to enlighten you all. Put the poppers in a cold oven then heat the oven to 400. Your bacon will be crispy not soggy. And add some sundries tomatoes and garlic to the cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
We do like these but the baking time is not long enough. I baked them for 40 minutes at 375F. on a rack and they were just right. This would have been 5 stars but for the baking time being so far off. Used regular thin sliced bacon and added 1/4 package of ranch dressing mix to the cream cheese. Next time I'll add garlic powder to it, also. Maybe garlic salt because, oddly enough, they seemed to lack salt. I only had 10 fairly large jalapenos and had enough filling for about 12 (24 halves). It doesn't work to overfill the halves because the cream cheese swells and the excess simply falls in the bottom of the pan. I was glad to be able to serve these without the breading and deep frying. Atkins dieters alert: This is a good appetizer for that diet. P.S. Removing seeds and membranes from your peppers gives you a pretty mellow product. Also, the longer they sit before you bake them the more mild they are. I think our 2 year old grandson would have eaten and liked these. You're left with only the flavor of the jalapeno, not the heat. I used lightweight rubber gloves to prepare these and washed my hands with soap with them on as I went from step to step. You don't want the pepper juice all over everything and it does burn if it gets in your eyes. Happy Football Season and thanks, Seahawks Fan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rapid River, Michigan, USA
Living In: Readfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Jalapeno Poppers

See how to make the perfect party appetizer.

Jalapeno Popper Spread

It tastes just like the jalapeno poppers you love!

Sausage-Stuffed Cherry Pepper Poppers

See how to make cherry peppers stuffed with Italian sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States