Jalapeno Poppers II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 6, 2013
Very good - used a favorite beer batter to bread the peppers. Did not add salt to filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Very good. I don't like cilatro so I left it out and cut back on the garlic. Also better if you put them in the freezer before you fry them. It helps the bread crumbs stick better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
this recipe is good but i changed a few things. first i used a serrated knife to lightly scratch the skin instead of peeling it, to peel it was taking to long and was proving (for me) to be impossible, second i added a little bit of sausage to the filling mmmmmm good. have fun and enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Loved the cilantro/garlic in filling. I leave stems on (as handle) for easier breading. I slice lengthwise along one side & use potato peeler end (prev mentioned) to gently scrap out seeds & some of the ribs. I swish around in water to help flush seeds out - then blot peppers dry. Using a baggie to pipe the filling works like a charm too. (Tip: lightly dust filled peppers with flour or cornstarch 1st so egg adheres better). Because this process requires a few steps I make at least 40 (or more) a batch. I prep the crm cheese and peppers one day...fill and bread (I use Panko crumbs) the next. I immediately freeze (single layer) on large baking sheet & then store in airtight bag. Poppers ready & waiting - YAY! Note: Jalapenos can vary in heat intensity and you can't tell by sight, feel or smell - only once you take a bite. P.S The 'Raspberry Inferno sauce" recipe on here goes wonderful as a dip for these! Give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
I cut the peppers in half and stuffed with cream cheese mixture (I omitted cilanto and added shredded cheddar) Then I breaded the poppers and put into the fridge for an hour to firm up. Right before frying, I breaded the poppers one more time to give the poppers a nice thick, but not to thick, crust. I will use this recipe again! YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
this was a good recipie.. my mistakes were truly my own. My motherwas given some pepers and it was passed that they were jalapenos... WRONG they were habaneros uh so I was killing my self and my friend with them. We only made it through 2 each... but the flavor was good.. And it killed her stuffy nose.. LOL. Defienitely will try again and I will go get my own peppers from the store... lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: North Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Waukegan, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
this recipe had a good flavor to it which shocked me because most popper recipes are either bland,chewy or undercooked. I would also recommend lowering your oil temp or to use a peanut oil or some oil that can handle the high temps and not ruin the flavor of the popper. not good if left over the next day. Guys dont be macho, trust me USE GLOVES when handling the peppers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SWEETIE79
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
MMMM...Yummy! These are good, but very time consuming (I tripled the recipe)...I can def. see why jala poppers are so expensive when you buy them out and already made; I did add some canned chopped jalapenos to the cream cheese mixture, which I think, made them a little hotter...my husband thought they were outrageously hot (but they weren't). Anyway, I enjoyed them, and I would make them again, only next time, I might leave my own addition of chopped jala OUT, so that my *pussy cat* of a hubby can enjoy them too! Haha! Thanks for the recipe! :o) And yes, use a ziploc baggie (as someone else pointed out) to pipe the filling into the jala.; it is a BIG help in saving time and its so much less messy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Avenel, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lakewood, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
ALERT!!! To help keep the burn off your hands and in your throat from the fumes...while cleaning the peppers, use plastic gloves and clean them under water. It is a life saver, trust me, good luck...countrygirl, :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Country Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leicester, Leicestershire, England, U.K.
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
I have to say the filling for this is excellent. I added cheddar cheese to the cream cheese mix and used the leftovers as a delicious dip with crackers. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Jalapeno Poppers

See how to make the perfect party appetizer.

Jalapeno Popper Spread

It tastes just like the jalapeno poppers you love!

Sausage-Stuffed Cherry Pepper Poppers

See how to make cherry peppers stuffed with Italian sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States