Jalapeno Poppers II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
Gonna try this one this weekend. I did a bit of prep today. Heres a tip.. cut off the stem and use a potato peeler to scoop out the membrane and seeds. it worked for me quite well. then just put the cream cheese into a sandwhich bag, snip off the corner and pipe the cheese into the opening. Less mess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Just a tip for those handling peppers. All you have to do (so you don't have to worry about gloves or baggies on your hands) is coat your hands in olive oil. If your hands end up burning rub them in milk, not a milk based product..MILK. It takes the burn away immediately, and even works on the lips (sometimes it burns there too after eating a hot pepper). My Grandma used the oil method and passed it along to me, and also the rubbing of the milk. IT WORKS TRUST ME!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chantallywallywoohoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stuart, Florida, USA
Living In: Randleman, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2002
I enjoyed this recipe - the only thing I would have to say was that it was not hot enough. Perhaps it was the jalepeno peppers I used. I think next time I will either keep the seeds in or perhaps use some crushed jalepeno peppers in the cream cheese mixture. I really liked the fact that none of the stuffing oozed out. I had my doubts since I have never tried making anything like this before. DEFINITELY WILL KEEP USING THIS RECIPE. THANKS FOR THE GREAT RECIPE AMANDA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
Like a previous review said, make sure you wear rubber gloves (or if you don't have rubber gloves, put a ziploc bag over you hand) because you can easily burn your hands with the hot oils from the pepper. It won't feel like it's burning when you are doing it, but a few hours later, the burning will be so intense you can barely stand it! Also, I tried leaving some of the seeds in as one of the reviewers suggested, and they were REALLLLY hot. So, if you do that, be really careful how many seeds you leave in. Perhaps it was just the batch of peppers that I used...but I think they would've been hot enough without any seeds. My husband and I both LOVED the cream cheese filling with the cilantro and roasted garlic though...it was to die for. I will definitely make again - but I will definitely wear gloves next time and save myself from being in agony all night long (seriously...the burning lasted more than 12 hours...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2005
These were okay, but my husband and I thought the strong flavor of the cream cheese kind of overpowered the jalapenos. I might try them again with less garlic and cilantro, and also without cooking and peeling the peppers first; they were pretty flabby, and one of the things we love about jalapeno poppers is the crunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
they were awsome!! i used sweet mini bell peppers and turned out great! BUT ONLY FRIED THEM 13 SECONDS! if they were 5 minutes as the recipe calls for ,would be black!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by olganydia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
This is THE BEST recipes for hot poppers!! My hubby can't get enough of them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eaglewing4031

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SWEETIE79
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
MMMM...Yummy! These are good, but very time consuming (I tripled the recipe)...I can def. see why jala poppers are so expensive when you buy them out and already made; I did add some canned chopped jalapenos to the cream cheese mixture, which I think, made them a little hotter...my husband thought they were outrageously hot (but they weren't). Anyway, I enjoyed them, and I would make them again, only next time, I might leave my own addition of chopped jala OUT, so that my *pussy cat* of a hubby can enjoy them too! Haha! Thanks for the recipe! :o) And yes, use a ziploc baggie (as someone else pointed out) to pipe the filling into the jala.; it is a BIG help in saving time and its so much less messy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Avenel, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lakewood, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2004
remember use gloves ouch there should be a warning on these things lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
ALERT!!! To help keep the burn off your hands and in your throat from the fumes...while cleaning the peppers, use plastic gloves and clean them under water. It is a life saver, trust me, good luck...countrygirl, :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Country Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leicester, Leicestershire, England, U.K.
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Jalapeno Poppers

See how to make the perfect party appetizer.

Jalapeno Popper Spread

It tastes just like the jalapeno poppers you love!

Sausage-Stuffed Cherry Pepper Poppers

See how to make cherry peppers stuffed with Italian sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States