Jalapeno Poppers II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2002
I enjoyed this recipe - the only thing I would have to say was that it was not hot enough. Perhaps it was the jalepeno peppers I used. I think next time I will either keep the seeds in or perhaps use some crushed jalepeno peppers in the cream cheese mixture. I really liked the fact that none of the stuffing oozed out. I had my doubts since I have never tried making anything like this before. DEFINITELY WILL KEEP USING THIS RECIPE. THANKS FOR THE GREAT RECIPE AMANDA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2004
remember use gloves ouch there should be a warning on these things lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2005
THIS WAS WONDERFUL, WILL MAKE OVER AND OVER AND OVER, THANK YOU SO MUCH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2005
These were okay, but my husband and I thought the strong flavor of the cream cheese kind of overpowered the jalapenos. I might try them again with less garlic and cilantro, and also without cooking and peeling the peppers first; they were pretty flabby, and one of the things we love about jalapeno poppers is the crunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
This is THE BEST recipes for hot poppers!! My hubby can't get enough of them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eaglewing4031

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
they were awsome!! i used sweet mini bell peppers and turned out great! BUT ONLY FRIED THEM 13 SECONDS! if they were 5 minutes as the recipe calls for ,would be black!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by olganydia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
Like a previous review said, make sure you wear rubber gloves (or if you don't have rubber gloves, put a ziploc bag over you hand) because you can easily burn your hands with the hot oils from the pepper. It won't feel like it's burning when you are doing it, but a few hours later, the burning will be so intense you can barely stand it! Also, I tried leaving some of the seeds in as one of the reviewers suggested, and they were REALLLLY hot. So, if you do that, be really careful how many seeds you leave in. Perhaps it was just the batch of peppers that I used...but I think they would've been hot enough without any seeds. My husband and I both LOVED the cream cheese filling with the cilantro and roasted garlic though...it was to die for. I will definitely make again - but I will definitely wear gloves next time and save myself from being in agony all night long (seriously...the burning lasted more than 12 hours...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
These were WAY too hot for me. I wasn't even able to finish 3 and I normally love poppers. My guess is that a lot depends on the peppers that you buy and maybe how ripe they are, but I don't know what to look for to determine how hot they'll be. The recipe was also very time consuming. The peeling, deseeding, and filling were all a pain. I didn't have gloves, so I put ziplock bags over my hands which made the job harder. If I were to make these again I might not roast the peppers and I'd probably cut them in half, which would make the seeding and filling easier. It would also cut the heat by increasing the filling to pepper ratio.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
I don't know if it was me or the recipe, but this was not the best or easiest recipe ever. It sounded simple enough when I started, but I have to agree with other members about when trying to make these with gloves or something else on your hands, it's not exactly very easy. My kitchen looks like a disaster area now and they only tasted so/so. I will try them one more time just to see if it was me or if maybe there is a better recipe out there for poppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
Absolutely delicious! But more work than I want to go through again in the very near future. It's August, the Jalapenos are in abundance so I grabbed a mess of them from the garden with good intentions and WOW did I set myself up for disaster. Two days later I had them all finished and ready for the freezer. They are a delight to the taste buds, but if you do a huge batch for freezing like I did, be sure you have a stool to sit on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 7SlotFever

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yreka, California, USA
Living In: Scotts Hill, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Jalapeno Poppers

See how to make the perfect party appetizer.

Bacon-Wrapped Jalapeno Poppers

Creamy, cheesy, spicy bite-size party appetizers.

Jalapeno Popper Spread

It tastes just like the jalapeno poppers you love!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States