Jalapeno Poppers I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2005
I give it 4 stars cuz it needs tweaking to be great...here's what you need to do: after seeding the peppers you must blanche them in salted boiling water for 2 minutes to the cream cheese mixture you need to add a few dashes of tobasco, a sprinling of chili powder and cayenne, some cilantro chopped very very finely, and a few real bacon bits. let the mixture sit for a while before stuffing, the flavours need to mingle you need to use seasoned breadcrumbs, but be sure to dredge them in FLOUR first, or else not enough egg will stick to the peppers, and in turn, not enough breadcrumbs will stick to them either...and do a double coating for extra crispiness! (and less oven leakage of cheese). with these adjustments it is a winning recipe. also, put the stuffed prepared peppers into the fridge for an hour before breading, this also cuts down on leakage because they are firmer. some folks say they arent spicy enoug: this depends on your peppers. some jalapenos are hotten than others, just liek some aples are sweeter than others. if you notice you have a bland batch of ppers when you are sedding them (and belive me, you'll KNOW if you have a spicy batch from the coughing you'll do) save soem of the seeds, or add even more tobasco.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
558 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2004
Very easy and tasty recipe. My husband and I had an assembly line making these little lovelies. As others suggested, we used colby/jack cheese instead of cheddar. Put the cheese mixture in a ziploc baggie and cut the corner. This way, you can pipe the mix in to the jalapeno with no mess! We also dredged them in flour before rolling in the egg. We also used the bread crumb mix instead of corn flakes. We ended up freezing them on the cookie sheet after they were cooled, then placed in a freezer bag for future use!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
172 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Emmaus, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2005
These are great! I added some mozzarella to the mix and dredged the peppers in flour mixed with cayenne, paprika, thyme, and garlic powder before re-dipping them in the egg, and then Italian breadcrumbs (which I used in lieu of the corn flakes). I baked them in a muffin tin, 3 to a cup, and that helped hold them together and keep the cheese in. Halfway through baking I sprayed them with Pam which helped to brown. They were very comparable to the deep fried version and I had to keep myself from eating the whole batch! They are VERY messy and TIME CONSUMING to make, however, so they will not be a regular, but as a special treat they are nice...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
I explored the internet and included many recipes from "allrecipes" for the best tasting jalapeno popper. I chose this recipe based on the baking method, rather then fried. I followed this recipe to the "T" and found it easy to pipe in the filling, (using the ol' corner of baggie method) and gently rolling the peppers in milk/egg, then cornflake crumbs. Not hard at all, milk, egg mixture really stuck to pepper, and cornflake crumbs a perfect combination. Was delicious! Family ate all, (and had quite few from garden). I really like the baked part, honestly didn't miss the "fried" mess that usually comes with frying. Really worth a very small effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2003
Everyone at my party loved these! My only suggestion is that you dip the peppers in a little flour before dipping in the egg because the cornflakes didn't stick to the peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2002
I used bread crumbs instead of cornflakes. Put them in the freezer before baking to try and get the cheese to stay put. Definitely would recommend cooking the jalapenos before stuffing them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEG18

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
These were really good. I didn't have corn flakes, so I breaded them with italian bread crumbs, dunked in the egg mix again and then breaded once more. The crust stayed on beautifully! An idea too, I left the stems on as best I could so I had something to hold on to while dipping and breading. Definitely a lot healthier than the fried version. This is a regular at my house now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sydney, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
For as skeptical as I was about these, they disappeared so quick. I did a trial run the night before making these, and I wasn't to thrilled with the way that they baked, the filling kinda ran out all over the baking sheet. Sooo, I decided to chop off the stems of the peppers & slit them lengthwise (without cutting them in half). I scraped the seeds out, and then stuffed them with the mixture (which I suggest cutting in 1/2 or doubling the peppers because I have 1/2 of it left). I ran out of time so I skipped the breading part & microwave "steamed" them, I have to say, they looked much better than the oven trial, and they were gone quick, I didn't even get to try one! Thanks Paula!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2002
We liked this recipe. For those of you somersizing, roll in parmesan cheese instead of bread crumbs. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2002
Excellent! Could have used more peppers as there was an abundance of mix for the inside. They went fast when I brought them to a party. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 331) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Jalapeno Poppers

See how to make the perfect party appetizer.

Sausage-Stuffed Cherry Pepper Poppers

See how to make cherry peppers stuffed with Italian sausage.

Jalapeno Popper Spread

It tastes just like the jalapeno poppers you love!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States