Jalapeno Poppers I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
filling was good, but stuffed it was too much pepper flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Panko bread crumbs! Wow, this was great. I followed the directions except that I added some Weber "Kickin' Chicken" seasoning to the cheese. Also, because I have the patience of a lightning bolt, I just couldn't do the rolling around in the eggs and stuff. I used a tablespoon and spooned the egg/milk mixture over the top of the peppers after they were stuffed, one at a time, and then spooned panko bread crumbs over them, nice, quick and easy. Man, they were the bomb! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
I followed the advice of others and blanched the jalapenos (salted boiling water for approximately 1 min and ice water approx 2 mins). This definitely helped out a lot. I also dredged them in flour before rolling them in bread crumbs (which I used instead of corn flakes), which also made a huge difference. As far as the taste goes, you really have to kind of play around with the recipe to suit the heat level you want. We love super spicy, so I added cayenne and chili powder to the cream cheese mixture. Also, next time depending on how many I'm making, I may cut the cream cheese ingredients in half. I had a ton left over from just making the 30 poppers. These are a little bit of work but well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: May 13, 2011
Easy to put together with a great flavor. Thanks Paula, this was my first time making poppers. I'll definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Made these for Easter & everyone loved them! Even good the next day! Problem was, I didn't make enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Very good and easy recipe. I did blanche the peppers for 2 min like someone else suggested and added some chilli powder & cayenne pepper and bacon. Very good recipe and so good:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
MMM... so good! I did make a few changes, but not enough to rate the dish lower overall: I used reduced fat cream cheese and 2% sharp cheddar, Panko bread crumbs (only b/c I had no corn flakes);also fat free greek yogurt instead of mayo (personal preference). I sprayed the tops of each one w/ nonstick cooking spray. As a plus, my changes actually made the dish quite a bit lower in fat & calories... YAY! Also, my jalapenos were on the smaller side but I was able to stuff 30 of them with the filling as stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Yucaipa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
These are delicious! I made them last night for the superbowl and made them once before to try them out. the changes I made were: Instead of dredging the entire chili in egg and then the corn flake cereal, I mixed a few Tbs of milk with about a 1/1/2 of panko breadcrumb. I added 1/4 tsp of cumin & 1/8 tsp of cayenne pepper to the milk/panko mixture. Then, I lined the cheese-filled chilis on a baking sheet and heaped a Tbs on each for a crunch on top. They went over very well! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Absolutely delicious!!! DO NOT substitute the corn flakes for breadcrumbs, that's what makes this version of poppers special! After reading some of the reviews, I did as others suggested and boiled the halves for a few minutes before stuffing them with the cheese mixture. It cooked out any remaining spice which can be good or bad depending on taste. Refrigerate the stuffed peppers for at least an hour before coating and baking them, it prevents oozing. Next time I make these I'll add a bit of cayenne to the cheese mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Personally, I do not like hot peppers, but my husband does. So I made these for him. But the peppers that I bought were even too hot for him. So we sent these over to a few neighbors, who I know love "hot", and they called to tell me to keep the recipe close by and send peppers over whenever I want. So they must be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 336) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Jalapeno Poppers

See how to make the perfect party appetizer.

Sausage-Stuffed Cherry Pepper Poppers

See how to make cherry peppers stuffed with Italian sausage.

Jalapeno Popper Spread

It tastes just like the jalapeno poppers you love!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States