Jalapeno Popper Wontons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
These are awesome! I made a ton of them and froze them on cookie sheets (if you freeze them all in one bag at once, they will stick together), and when they were frozen, I transferred them to a container so they don't break up. These are worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAVES_POOKY

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
My husband loved these and so much cheaper than the store bought poppers.He liked them best without the sauce but that;s typical for him. I am making another BIG batch to freeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
I just made a few of these to test out before making a big batch. They were awesome. But I didn't fry them b/c I didn't want the added calories. So I basted them with olive oil and baked them for 5 minutes at 475 degrees. They wre crispy and delicious. I made two of them with diced Anaheim chili peppers and those were theeee best ever!!!! The chili pepper has a great flavor and are not hot at all. You could probably get the same crunch from diced celery but the Anaheim chilis are packed with flavor. I'll definitely be making some more of these very soon. Oh, and the sweet chili sauce I used is from Trader Joe's. This sauce is essential for dipping. The sweetness of the dipping sauce mixes beautifully with the cream cheese and jalapenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
412 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanNoel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
I basically just used the idea of this recipe and the out come was delightful. I seeded and chopped a serrano chili with some red onion and cooked over medium heat with a little olive oil until tender. Removed from heat and added 4 oz cream cheese and about 2 teaspoons toasted sesame oil, a little salt, pepper, and garlic powder. Fried in wantons...MMmmmm. My hubby and I ate them all as they came out of the pan. I forgot to dip in the chili sauce. Will use it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
These were good although I thought they were quite time consuming to put together. I made them as directed but probably won't go to all the trouble again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coventry, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Grafton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
I baked these for a cookout and they were a hit! Definitely a make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
They are time consuming - but worth it. Plus they make so many that you can freeze some if you are just fixing a few for yourself. They are yummo and such a great snack - better than the poppers from the store!!!! It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lagrange, Georgia, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Katie
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
This recipe is amazing! I followed an earlier suggestion and baked the wontons rather than frying them. This really was an easy recipe. I'm not sure why people said it was too time consuming. I got it done very quickly! I can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
Wonderful!! SO easy too! I used fresh japs (I only had three, but 4 would've been nice!) and followed the recipe as is. The sweet chili sauce is the greatest topper to them! I think these will be requested A LOT by my husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bizzymomma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sarah
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
These were pretty good. They need a little help though. I used 3 fresh jalepenos and added 1/8 cup mozerella, 1/4 teaspoon onion powder, 1 teaspoon fresh minced garlic, and 1/8 teaspoon sugar. I served them with fresh salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chaska, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Jalapeno Popper Spread

It tastes just like the jalapeno poppers you love!

Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese Sandwich

See how to make grilled cheese sandwiches with a cheesy, creamy jalapeno filling.

Best Ever Jalapeno Poppers

See how to make the perfect party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States