Jalapeno Popper Wontons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
these were an absolute hit and my superbowl party last nite, i think i may have used a bit more diced jalapenos than necessary but everyone loved them...will make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
This recipe was great and it was a big hit at the party we went to. I changed it for another party and used puff pastry sheets, spread the filling on it, rolled it up and sliced up 1/2 inch pieces and baked it. Another hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I tested out these babies for a party last night. They were really easy to assemble, and it didn't take long to make all 20-some wontons. I opted to bake instead of fry, and since I already had my oven set to 350, I tossed these in for about 15 minutes - which I don't recommend. I brushed them with oil as others had recommended, but they didn't crisp up like they should have. The edges got dark brown while the middle was still soft and white. Other posters recommended high heats for shorter amounts of time - that must be the key? Also, though I thought I was careful to seal them well, I got "seepage" on every single one. So they weren't very pretty, and they weren't totally crispy, but people LOVED them. I wasn't crazy about them myself, but they were one of the first things to be eaten up. I would make these again and see if I can figure out what I did wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
Excellent as is. I added a little onion and toasted sesame oil to the mixture and they were all munched up before my eyes. Awesome and so easy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
I'm giving this five stars because I love, love, LOVE the flavors; my own execution so far isn't quite there yet, but I'm working on it! I mixed goat cheese and cream cheese for the filling, and since I'm serving these for a party adn didn't want one more dip or sauce that people had to deal with, baked the sweet chilli sauce inside too. I had a small problem with leakage, but I was using round wonton wrappers; I will try them again balancing them seam-up, and if that doesn't work try the square ones. Does anyone know for long in advance these can be frozen?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
These were very good! I actually made a huge batch and froze them to take as an appetizer for thanksgiving!!! I must say though, when I make jalapeno poppers on the grill, i alway wrap them in bacon, so i added 2 slices of chopped bacon to my cream cheese mixture... It gives the popper a bit of a smokey taste.. They are good either way, but, I won't make them again without the bacon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dena67212

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
I'd have rated this a 5, but I made a couple of changes to the recipe. I added some green onions in with the cream cheese & one fresh jalepeno, I pan fried the wontons before assembling, then baked at 350 for about 15 minutes. I'll be making these for my family for the holidays, they all LOVE poppers and I'm sure this will get great reviews. I might consider adding some bacon bits in with the cream cheese next time I make these...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greeley, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Five Stars for tast and simplicity. Fresh peppers or canned, cooked or raw, jalapeno, anaheim or other, you can't mess this up. Just keep the stack of wonton wrappers under a damp paper towel before filling. And when sealing them up, try to get all the air out. You can also wet the two long points and bring them around pinching together to make more of a wonton shape. If one pops when frying, try to get it out quickly or the cheese will start the oil spattering. Not a problem, just eat those ones yourself. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
Great bar food. Loved them and very easy. Used ranch instead of chili sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 64spoons

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
We had a bumper crop of jalapenos this year and not very good results with the tomatoes meaning that we had a LOT of jalapenos left after making our salsa. This is by far the best recipe I have found for the leftover jalapenos, and we made up many, many batches and froze them for use later. They freeze very well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IVPLAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Polson, Montana, USA
Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jalapeno Popper Spread

It tastes just like the jalapeno poppers you love!

Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese Sandwich

See how to make grilled cheese sandwiches with a cheesy, creamy jalapeno filling.

Best Ever Jalapeno Poppers

See how to make the perfect party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States