Jalapeno Popper Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
It was delicious! The only changes I made was I added a bit of chili powder to the breadcrumbs and baked it in a foil lined baking tray @ 350 for about 30 mins instead of frying it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
My fiance gives this 5+ stars! I cut the recipe down to 1 serving and since my fiance is a jalapeno and spice lover, I used one whole jalapeno, which I left the seeds in. The only other change I made was to only fry this for a few minutes, just until the the breadcrumbs browned a bit. Then I baked at 350 for 20 minutes on a wire rack. This will be a "make again". Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
Very good recipe but could use a hair more flavor. I baked mine (no pan frying at all) at 350 for 30 minutes, after dipping in milk then rolling in the bread crumbs. Next time I will double the jalapenos, and also add some garlic salt and/or onion powder to the cheese mixture. I will also dust the outside with garlic salt, to get a little more flavor out of this dish, but the recipe is a great starting point and probably great for those with less heat-tolerance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NJFoodies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
This was so good! I added bacon into the cream cheese mixture and I also baked it. The spice of the jalapeno and the smoky bacon made a delicious combo. Also used low fat cream cheese and homegrown jalapenos. Will definitely make this again. My boyfriend couldn't get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Okay, I have yet to try a recipe from this site I haven't enjoyed making and eating! This recipe was no different! IT WAS OUTSTANDING! We are partial to spicier foods, so I added extra doses of Jalapeno peppers, plus added paprika, black pepper and crushed red pepper to the bread crumb coating. I also opted to bake it instead of the pan fry. It was cheesy and spicy spilling from the moistest chicken! My kids had seconds and my husband thought this would be a hit at his fall football gathering! I made it again for my parents who don't eat the peppers, substituting mushrooms and asparagus tips with the cheeses, and garlic salt and mustard seed in the coating. Great alternative. A recipe I will for sure be making again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manhattan, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
This was awesome! The chicken was a nice balance with the jalapeno. It tasted just like Jalapeno Poppers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AGGIE778

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
Excellent and simple, if you don't mind frying - and I can not imagine that a baked version would turn out tasting as good! Even Mr. "I hate yardbird" loved it. Used flash-frozen chicken filets, thawed them, and basically butterflied them in cutting a pocket because they were pretty skinny filets. Filled the "pocket" with a seeded, intact half of a jalapeno instead of mincing the pepper, and couple TBS of the cheese mix. Held them together with toothpicks, and used a pan that can be soaked clean! The chix was preseasoned (roasted garlic); the cream cheese was a combo of what I had - whipped cr ch and onion/chive, with shredded cheddar/monterey jack. I did pre-cook the peppers in the microwave after cutting/seeding - one minute zap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
This idea was good. I had to work with a thinner portion of chicken, so I had to roll the "stuffing" up like a log almost and then roll in the seasoned bread crumbs, and I cooked it in the oven. Was good, but needs something on the outside of the chicken, or more seasoning in the bread crumbs I made. But the idea was great, and will just have to do something different with my bread crumbs and season the chicken for next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babs2574

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Two Harbors, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Anoka, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
Since everyone said their filling was oozing out and did not have flavor, I halved the cream cheese (4 ounces), but increased the jalapenos. I used a Mexican cheese mix. I also mixed in some red pepper in the cheese mixture. After stuffing the chicken, I then dipped it in egg wash, then panko breadcrumbs with chili powder. I then baked it at 350 for 30-35 minutes. With these changes, it was close to a 5 star recipe. This was very yummy and easy, but a bit time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
My boyfriend and I loved this recipe! I wrapped the individual stuffed chicken breasts in tin foil and then baked them at 350 for 30 minutes like others suggested. Some of the filling oozed out of the chicken breasts, but they were still yummy. We will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heather.marie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Eagle River, Alaska, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese Sandwich

See how to make grilled cheese sandwiches with a cheesy, creamy jalapeno filling.

Jalapeno Popper Spread

It tastes just like the jalapeno poppers you love!

Slow Cooker Jalapeno Popper Taquitos

Check out these creamy and spicy taquitos!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States