Jalapeno Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
I am a consummate pepper jelly maker...so I will tll you how I make this wonderful recipe. I use 6 cups of sugar. Add a tbsp. or 2 of butter just before you put the certo in...it keeps the foam down. Also I do not remove the seeds. Just put all the peppers into the food processor and grind finely. I do not stain...so the final result is more like jam than jelly. I boil for a few minutes after adding the certo...about 3 to 5 minutes. It 'jells' beautifully and is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
917 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
I made this for my husband. He loved it. I didn't strain the jalapenos before adding the pectin, so it was more of a jam. My hasband said that the only thing it needed was more spice. But that was my fault because I removed *all* of the seeds and ribs before blending. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
310 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2002
The liquid arrived at in step 2 has been changed to 1 cup. We have updated this recipe to change the amount of the yield. It should be 2 (8 ounce) jars instead of 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
244 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
Great!!!! I had to make some modifications being diabetic. Here is the recipe with splenda. SPLENDA’ sugar free Yield 2 pints Same ingredients as above except: sugar & pectin • 1 box sure jell for no sugar recipe (mix with ¼ cup real sugar) set aside • 5 ½ cups splenda: set aside • 1 ½ cups water DIRECTIONS 1. Same as above 2. Same as above set aside for the moment 3. Use large pan: Add water, to this add the sure jell with sugar added stir, add peppers. Bring to a full boil, boil 1-3 min. Stirring constantly 4. At this point add 5 cups of splenda and stir till dissolved. Continue on with step 4. I did the peppers as for a jam,I did not strain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
145 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 1COOKIEANGEL
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2005
This recipe is WONDERFUL!!! I have made it twice and followed it exactly. I did get more than one cup of juice but it didn't seem to make any difference in the preperation. When I added the cut up jalapenos I had to shake the jars several times after it came out of the water bath as it was cooling. If I didn't do this they all stayed at the rim and didn't disperse through the jelly. The color is great if you don't push it through cheese cloth just let it drip naturally. Thanks for a real winner!!ps I just won 2nd place at the county fair with this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2006
I made this to give for Christmas presents (and to use up jalapeno peppers from my garden), when I took a jar to my sisters house to test it out, the whole jar was eaten and I have people begging to be put on my Christmas List! It was fabulous! I left the seeds in all of the jalapenos (except the last four that goes in at the end), and it was hot, but that's what everyone loved about it! Great recipe! Thanks! Already planning on making a few more batches for gifts and for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
I love this stuff! I pick up jalopeno pepper jelly at all the craft fairs and bazaars, but it gets quite spendy. I didn't realize that I, too, could make such a wonderful jelly. The recipe (after corrected by Allrecipe Staff) is easy, tasty and excellent. Thanks for sharing, Sue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2005
Very good. Try this appetizer: Get a ritz (or other buttery cracker) and spread cream cheese on it. Add this wonderful jelly and top with a slice of jalapeno - aka Cowboy Candy! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATTI EVERT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2005
this recipe tasted horrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2002
Recipe didn't work as printed. When you are supposed to get 4 cups of liquid, and all you get is about 3/4 cup, who knows which way to go. And with Jelly that is wrong. I couldn't get a set. Although the taste was good it is soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Jalapeno Jelly

See how to make a colorful Christmas relish that’s sweet and spicy.

Quick Pickled Jalapeno Rings

Watch Chef John make quick-and-easy pickled peppers.

Jalapeno Popper Spread

It tastes just like the jalapeno poppers you love!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States