Jalapeno Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
I did as others suggested I used 6 cups sugar and did not strain and put all peppers in food processor at once. I made 3 batches and ended up with 10- 1/2 pints and 6 pints. This is the BEST. Also I didnt add any food color and used 2 lg green bell and 1 red bell(for 3 batches) and it turned out beautiful. I will continue to make as long as my peppers produce as well as years to come. Even my father ate this and he doesnt like jalapenos that was a compliment in itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
This is awesome!! Sweet, tangy, and spicy all in one. I used a sieve to put the jalapeno and vinegar mixture through (I didn't want to search for my cheesecloth) and it worked just fine. It's not a difficult recipe; just a little time consuming and a juggling act with the canning. I will make this again next summer!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
Tastes great! As we enjoy spicy food I left the seeds in....I did not strain it....In a ramekin I put a piece of cream cheese and spoon the jelly over top...I usually cut tortillas into bite size pieces, place them on a cookie sheet and toast slightly in the oven then serve with the jelly....the tortillas have less calories that some crackers, they do not have any salt or fat making them a healthier choice than some crackers....and the taste of the tortillas does not over-power the jelly...great as an appetizer with friends.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ajax, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
my my... what a taste! It's rather addicting... I've never had anything like it, and that's what everybody who tries it says too! I still have a bunch in the fridge. I didn't get enough pectin in mine though. Used a jar of jalapenos (the point of the recipe was to use them up...) and included all the parts of the pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RepEAT Bakery

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2009
in a word, Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
This is a good basic recipe for jalapeno jelly. I use my own jalapenos from the garden and just a little less pectin and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
This is awsome. I followed the recipe almost exactly,(I used Habaneros instead of Jalapenos). It came out great. It's been a week and I have to make more, everyone who tried it wanted a jar of their own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
great tasting recipe,,couldn't get it to gel,,,tried twice,,,once with splenda and once with suger with same results,,tastes great, can't get it to gel, any suggestions on what i might be doing wrong??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
Excellent. I opted not to add the pieces of jalapeno and used a couple drops of green food color. I served it on Ritz crackers with cream cheese and a dallop of the jelly. Everyone wants the recipe. Thanks. This will be made time and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
Unfortunately, this recipe produces a variable amount of juice due to variations in the size & juicyness of the peppers. If there is too much juice, it won't set with the amount of pectin asked for in the recipe. It can be reboiled using traditional jam setting methods--how it comes off the spoon or if some is placed on a cold plate it won't come together if you rub your finger through it (p833 Joy of Cooking)--it was a little rubbery, though, when I did this but of excellant appearance and flavor. When I make it again, I will try to boil down the juice to the stated amount before I add the pectin and chopped pepper. Adding in chopped red jalepenos makes it look real christmasy. This is a great recipe but it takes a few times to get it right. Best to make small batches til you are through experimenting. Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Jalapeno Jelly

See how to make a colorful Christmas relish that’s sweet and spicy.

Quick Pickled Jalapeno Rings

Watch Chef John make quick-and-easy pickled peppers.

How to Make Hot Pepper Jelly

See how to make a spicy red and green bell pepper jelly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States