Jalapeno Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
This was an awesome recipe! My mouth is on fire, oh baby! I reduced the sugar by 1.5 cups as I am sure I will eat it up in the next month or so, yum yum! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
I loved this jalapeno jelly. I did not strain jalapeno's or stir in extra jalapeno's at the end. I seeded all of my jalapenos (they were extra spicy). After cooking the jalapenos, I ended up with 2 cups instead of one and used all 2 cups. Also since the jalapeno mixture was thick because I did not strain I used 3 oz of liquid pectin instead of 4oz, (it comes in 3oz packages anyways). It turned out great. I especially like it with cream cheese. Warning: Wear rubber gloves (not thin plastic ones) when chopping jalapenos, the jalapeno's can burn you pretty bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
Delicious. Even my 7yo son liked it. (He requested I say that) I ended up with about double the Jalapeno juice needed so I saved half for next time. Also, the liquid pectin was sold in 3oz packets, so I just used one packet instead of the 4oz called for. Also, I had no idea what a hot water bath was, but I did a little research and put a metal bowl inside a pot, filled it up with water to cover the lids of the jars, and boiled it for 5mins. The suction worked, so hopefully that's all it needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
Love the flavor of this. I can't get it to gel right. I got one batch to do it but don't know what I did different. It still taste great and can use it on pork as a glaze but hard to give it away if it isn't setting up. If someone can please help me to get it to gel that would be great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
This jelly is delicious! The first time I used this recipe the jelly turned out perfectly. The second time I made the recipe the jalapeno peppers (& a few chops of red bell pepper) that I added in the last step all rose to the top of the jelly jar. It's so much prettier to see the chopped peppers dispersed throughout the jelly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
This was my first time canning ever, but with an overload of Jalapenos I had too. Great recipe - easy. The taste is great. Sweet at first with a good bite at the end. Like others noted - I kept some seeds in, but not all. I think I will mix this with whipped cream cheese for a dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessabelle_Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conyngham, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
I did as others suggested I used 6 cups sugar and did not strain and put all peppers in food processor at once. I made 3 batches and ended up with 10- 1/2 pints and 6 pints. This is the BEST. Also I didnt add any food color and used 2 lg green bell and 1 red bell(for 3 batches) and it turned out beautiful. I will continue to make as long as my peppers produce as well as years to come. Even my father ate this and he doesnt like jalapenos that was a compliment in itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
This is awesome!! Sweet, tangy, and spicy all in one. I used a sieve to put the jalapeno and vinegar mixture through (I didn't want to search for my cheesecloth) and it worked just fine. It's not a difficult recipe; just a little time consuming and a juggling act with the canning. I will make this again next summer!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
Tastes great! As we enjoy spicy food I left the seeds in....I did not strain it....In a ramekin I put a piece of cream cheese and spoon the jelly over top...I usually cut tortillas into bite size pieces, place them on a cookie sheet and toast slightly in the oven then serve with the jelly....the tortillas have less calories that some crackers, they do not have any salt or fat making them a healthier choice than some crackers....and the taste of the tortillas does not over-power the jelly...great as an appetizer with friends.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ajax, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
my my... what a taste! It's rather addicting... I've never had anything like it, and that's what everybody who tries it says too! I still have a bunch in the fridge. I didn't get enough pectin in mine though. Used a jar of jalapenos (the point of the recipe was to use them up...) and included all the parts of the pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RepEAT Bakery

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Jalapeno Jelly

See how to make a colorful Christmas relish that’s sweet and spicy.

Quick Pickled Jalapeno Rings

Watch Chef John make quick-and-easy pickled peppers.

How to Make Hot Pepper Jelly

See how to make a spicy red and green bell pepper jelly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States