Jalapeno Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
great! had a bumper crop of peppers this year. i took others advice- did not strain, used 6c sugar, 2tb butter to keep the foam down. turned out AMAZING. really spicy, but totally addictive. set wonderfully, so easy i did it while my toddler and baby ate dinner in their high chairs. i didnt put it in a boiling water bath, because i know we will go through it pretty quickly, but it made a lot more than i expected- 38oz! ill probably give away the two 8oz cans, and keep the pint can and the rest of myself. i CANNOT WAIT to have this on some mild cheese with a cold beer. perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
I have been looking for a good 'pepper jelly' recipe forever... so many of them were green bell peppers, this one is much spicier, and to my taste. I raise chili peppers, but didn't have any jalapenos, so I used sereno chili once, and this time, I used the tiny Thai chilies..... MMmmmm good, I strained it the 1st time, and this time I put the pulp back in. Great! both ways.. oh I used pepin (instead of Certo) for a Vegan friend this last time..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tutu Sharna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pahoa, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
It took me 2 hrs to make this the first time because I wanted to make sure I read everything correctly. Now, it takes me 45 mins. and that's including cleanup time. Love this recipe! It's absolutely the easiest thing I've ever made. I'm even giving a class on how to make it. I have doubled the recipe and it turned out perfect. I've probably made it 10 times. Perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA
Living In: Sanger, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
I recently made this recipe and followed it to the letter. After straining the mixture I did end up with 1 cup of liquid. I simply want to let you know that this recipe yields four (4) 8-ounce jelly jars, not just "two" as you stated. Can't understand why you changed the original 4 jar yield to 2 jars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
So easy to make! Followed receipe as fellow reviewer Rae suggested (Nov. 18th 2006). Finely processed peppers, bypassed any straining, did not remove any seeds, used 6 cups of sugar & 2 tbsp. of butter and wow so good to eat! My only recommendation would be to wear gloves while preparing peppers & enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
I just made this yummy sounding recipe and followed Rae's suggestion of using 6 cups sugar and not straining. Wished I was more sure of how to do a hot water bath for sealing the jars, but since I used hot jars filled with hot jelly and kept them in the hot water bath for about 5 minutes, I am assuming that as it cools, it will 1) jell and 2) seal the jars. I added 1 drop of green food color to enhance the color and was able to fill 6 half pint jars. Can't wait to try it out once it cools! What a great way to use up jalapenos from the garden! Thank you for this amazing recipe that is surely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanna Roberts Goolsby

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hartland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
I never had made Jalapeno jelly in my life. This was so easy and is really quite tasty! It made 4 jars which I put in the hot water bath for 10 minutes and the jars sealed quickly. This will be great over cream cheese on bagels!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
Holy cow this was so good! I think it was just the right amount of sweet vs. hot and tastes fantastic with cream cheese and some crackers. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
Thank you for the recipe. I try every jalapeno jelly recipe and we enjoy it with my family. and if you cant make it at home or the recipe doesnt work out for you, dont worry people there are so many good jalapeno jellies out there. I personally dont like the ones that dont have real jalapenos inside and have food colorings and preservatives. The best all natural jalapeno jelly I tasted is Mediterranean Deluxe Jalapeno Jelly. They have the whole jalapenos with the seeds and all, so it has a little extra punch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
I thought this was really delicious. I modified a little. I added 1/4 of a vidalia onion and used red rather than green pepper in the food processor with the japenenos. I did not strain so it was like a jam. I used 6 c sugar after boiling and just before adding the pectin, I stirred in 1.5T butter. I used 2 packs of ball liquid fruit pectin (6 oz total) . The red peper made for a nice pink color. It was reasonably hot but very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Jalapeno Jelly

See how to make a colorful Christmas relish that’s sweet and spicy.

Quick Pickled Jalapeno Rings

Watch Chef John make quick-and-easy pickled peppers.

How to Make Hot Pepper Jelly

See how to make a spicy red and green bell pepper jelly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States