Jalapeno Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Delicious and very easy to make. I put all 16 peppers in the blender (in small batches) until finely chopped. As suggested, I used 6 cups of sugar, and I put in 1 TBLS butter before adding the Certo. I didn't strain. It actually set up too much and was a little too sweet for my liking. Next time I will use 5 cups sugar and just 3 oz Certo. Great recipe and wonderful way to use those extra peppers from the garden!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I didn't get 1/4 cup of liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by racinee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
I made the recipe with the following variations: I pureed the peppers & seeds into a fine slurry and did not strain anything. My Certo came in 3-oz pouches, so I used 3 oz. instead of 4 oz. and it set just fine. Good stuff! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Have now made this 3 times over the last 7 days every time I make it gets better! I found that to get a nice rosy appearance you must use a red bell pepper, out of the 12 jalapeno peppers, I used 2 larger ones without seeding or deveining them. I simmered for 13 minutes and yielded 12 oz after straining. Like other reviewers I added 2 tbsp butter before adding liquid pectin and shook jars to evenly distribute chopped jalapeno prior to hot water bath. Had no problems jelling. WOW! Thanks for this recipe, I now have a new favourite jelly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
I made this to the "T" last summer when I had a garden overflowing with peppers. It's great just as is. Now if your sensitive to heat or you get a batch of really hot peppers (as they can vary), you can cut the jam by half with mayo for sandwich spreads. Or, you can add grilled corn removed from the cob-awesome! That way your peppers and efforts will not be wasted. This year, I made some adjustments. After straining, I added the juice from 1 lime. And, when adding the jalapenos at the end, I added finely grated zest of said lime. It just turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
This is a great recipe!. Just beware and wear gloves when you are working with the jalapenos as the oil will burn your hands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pomeroy, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
I doubled the vinegar, sugar and pectin to tame down the HOT! Also added 4 Sweet Hungarian Peppers to mixture. Instead of chopping up 4 Jalapenos at the end, I added 2 tablespoons of the pulp. Turned out fantastic with no waste! It made 8- 8 ounces jars of jelly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
I went to the local farmers market to get jalapenos and ended up getting hungarian wax peppers instead. I only needed 3 large ones to make up for the jalapenos! I also added a small red pepper. I didn't strain it (lazy) but it set nicely as it was. It was a hit around our house last fall. I'll definitely be making a double batch this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
I only use 3 ounces of pectin to keep it from getting too hard and pour the finished product over a block of cream cheese for a terrific hors d'oeuvre
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
i was wondering what to do with all the jalapenos from my garden then i came across this recipe.i plan on planting even more of them next season.i did find that shaking the jars as they cooled gave the jars a lot better look also.now, where did i put that creamed cheese?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by garyjerome

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Jalapeno Jelly

See how to make a colorful Christmas relish that’s sweet and spicy.

Quick Pickled Jalapeno Rings

Watch Chef John make quick-and-easy pickled peppers.

How to Make Hot Pepper Jelly

See how to make a spicy red and green bell pepper jelly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States