Jalapeno Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Have now made this 3 times over the last 7 days every time I make it gets better! I found that to get a nice rosy appearance you must use a red bell pepper, out of the 12 jalapeno peppers, I used 2 larger ones without seeding or deveining them. I simmered for 13 minutes and yielded 12 oz after straining. Like other reviewers I added 2 tbsp butter before adding liquid pectin and shook jars to evenly distribute chopped jalapeno prior to hot water bath. Had no problems jelling. WOW! Thanks for this recipe, I now have a new favourite jelly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
I made this to the "T" last summer when I had a garden overflowing with peppers. It's great just as is. Now if your sensitive to heat or you get a batch of really hot peppers (as they can vary), you can cut the jam by half with mayo for sandwich spreads. Or, you can add grilled corn removed from the cob-awesome! That way your peppers and efforts will not be wasted. This year, I made some adjustments. After straining, I added the juice from 1 lime. And, when adding the jalapenos at the end, I added finely grated zest of said lime. It just turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
This is a great recipe!. Just beware and wear gloves when you are working with the jalapenos as the oil will burn your hands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pomeroy, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
I doubled the vinegar, sugar and pectin to tame down the HOT! Also added 4 Sweet Hungarian Peppers to mixture. Instead of chopping up 4 Jalapenos at the end, I added 2 tablespoons of the pulp. Turned out fantastic with no waste! It made 8- 8 ounces jars of jelly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
I went to the local farmers market to get jalapenos and ended up getting hungarian wax peppers instead. I only needed 3 large ones to make up for the jalapenos! I also added a small red pepper. I didn't strain it (lazy) but it set nicely as it was. It was a hit around our house last fall. I'll definitely be making a double batch this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
I only use 3 ounces of pectin to keep it from getting too hard and pour the finished product over a block of cream cheese for a terrific hors d'oeuvre
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
i was wondering what to do with all the jalapenos from my garden then i came across this recipe.i plan on planting even more of them next season.i did find that shaking the jars as they cooled gave the jars a lot better look also.now, where did i put that creamed cheese?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by garyjerome

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
Super yummy and jelled very nicely. I left a few seeds in for some extra spice and it was perfect. I actually only came out with about 3/4 cup of liquid after simmering/straining, but I added enough cider vinegar to the liquid to make a cup and that worked just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
very good, everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitty Lackey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenwich, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
I tried this from a friend and it is soooo good. I can't wait till my garden comes in so I can make some for myself. Goes great with poppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: East Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Jalapeno Jelly

See how to make a colorful Christmas relish that’s sweet and spicy.

Quick Pickled Jalapeno Rings

Watch Chef John make quick-and-easy pickled peppers.

Jalapeno Popper Spread

It tastes just like the jalapeno poppers you love!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States