Jalapeno Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
This is a good basic recipe for jalapeno jelly. I use my own jalapenos from the garden and just a little less pectin and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
This is awsome. I followed the recipe almost exactly,(I used Habaneros instead of Jalapenos). It came out great. It's been a week and I have to make more, everyone who tried it wanted a jar of their own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
great tasting recipe,,couldn't get it to gel,,,tried twice,,,once with splenda and once with suger with same results,,tastes great, can't get it to gel, any suggestions on what i might be doing wrong??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
Excellent. I opted not to add the pieces of jalapeno and used a couple drops of green food color. I served it on Ritz crackers with cream cheese and a dallop of the jelly. Everyone wants the recipe. Thanks. This will be made time and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
Unfortunately, this recipe produces a variable amount of juice due to variations in the size & juicyness of the peppers. If there is too much juice, it won't set with the amount of pectin asked for in the recipe. It can be reboiled using traditional jam setting methods--how it comes off the spoon or if some is placed on a cold plate it won't come together if you rub your finger through it (p833 Joy of Cooking)--it was a little rubbery, though, when I did this but of excellant appearance and flavor. When I make it again, I will try to boil down the juice to the stated amount before I add the pectin and chopped pepper. Adding in chopped red jalepenos makes it look real christmasy. This is a great recipe but it takes a few times to get it right. Best to make small batches til you are through experimenting. Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
We love Jalapeno Jelly and this was our first experience making it. The recipe yielded much more liquid and we were concerned as to why we had so much extra. It turned out well and jelled perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngelaW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
We had our first vegetable garden this year and grew a few too many Jalapenos! This recipe is ideal for using up quite a lot of them and it tastes great! It's quite sweet with a really good tangy kick. Very easy to make. I didn't bother with the food colouring or adding the chopped peppers at the end. Everyone who's tried it loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
this ain't bad stuff. Like others I can't get it to set properly, and get more liquid than stated. Question- why does the uncook jelly solidify but the cooked jely come out like honey? Also, I use the pulp in ~1/2 of the jars to make it a "jam" - why through this good stuff away, y'all?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
I love jalapeno jelly, but this had a very strong vinegar smell and taste - I couldn't eat it. My husband said the flavor was OK, but he also thought the smell was unpleasant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
I didn't try this before the corrections so 1 cup of liquid was exactly what I got when draining the pulp. Perfect. Followed the recipe exactly except for two things. Added a few drops of colouring to make more of an emerald colour, and used a few finely minced red chili peppers in place of 2 of the final minced jalapenos for added colour. It's as delicious as it is beautiful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Jalapeno Jelly

See how to make a colorful Christmas relish that’s sweet and spicy.

Quick Pickled Jalapeno Rings

Watch Chef John make quick-and-easy pickled peppers.

Jalapeno Popper Spread

It tastes just like the jalapeno poppers you love!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States