Jalapeno Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
We had a glut of peppers from the garden this year, and I was at a loss of what to do with them. This recipe is amazing. I add crushed red pepper, as I prefer very hot things. This is a favorite of my husband's and mine. Had planned to give away as gifts at Christmas, but couldn't bring myself to part with it. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
I've made this two years in a row for gifts and everyone just loves it! Thought I'd finally take the time to tell you so! Thanks for submitting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
After printing this recipe last year I finally made it! Wonderful. I added a couple of drops of green food coloring but don't know that you need this. I had double the jalapenos so I doubled the inital part of the recipe, ending upwith enough juice to make triple the amount of jelly. Hadn't made jelly in several years so was unfamiliar with the new packaging for certo but one envelope jelled each batch beautifully! Drfinitely a do again recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
My sister and I made 4 batches of this recipe. We started out using the 12 jalapenos with seeds and membranes, and with each batch, reduced that amount. But, after all was said and done, the first batch was the best, and everybody raves about it. We made the jam, not the jelly, so we got 6 half pint jars with every batch. I wouldn't do one thing different! This jam/jelly is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAILBAG
Home Town: Yamhill, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
This was an awesome recipe! My mouth is on fire, oh baby! I reduced the sugar by 1.5 cups as I am sure I will eat it up in the next month or so, yum yum! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
I loved this jalapeno jelly. I did not strain jalapeno's or stir in extra jalapeno's at the end. I seeded all of my jalapenos (they were extra spicy). After cooking the jalapenos, I ended up with 2 cups instead of one and used all 2 cups. Also since the jalapeno mixture was thick because I did not strain I used 3 oz of liquid pectin instead of 4oz, (it comes in 3oz packages anyways). It turned out great. I especially like it with cream cheese. Warning: Wear rubber gloves (not thin plastic ones) when chopping jalapenos, the jalapeno's can burn you pretty bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
Delicious. Even my 7yo son liked it. (He requested I say that) I ended up with about double the Jalapeno juice needed so I saved half for next time. Also, the liquid pectin was sold in 3oz packets, so I just used one packet instead of the 4oz called for. Also, I had no idea what a hot water bath was, but I did a little research and put a metal bowl inside a pot, filled it up with water to cover the lids of the jars, and boiled it for 5mins. The suction worked, so hopefully that's all it needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
Love the flavor of this. I can't get it to gel right. I got one batch to do it but don't know what I did different. It still taste great and can use it on pork as a glaze but hard to give it away if it isn't setting up. If someone can please help me to get it to gel that would be great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
This jelly is delicious! The first time I used this recipe the jelly turned out perfectly. The second time I made the recipe the jalapeno peppers (& a few chops of red bell pepper) that I added in the last step all rose to the top of the jelly jar. It's so much prettier to see the chopped peppers dispersed throughout the jelly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
This was my first time canning ever, but with an overload of Jalapenos I had too. Great recipe - easy. The taste is great. Sweet at first with a good bite at the end. Like others noted - I kept some seeds in, but not all. I think I will mix this with whipped cream cheese for a dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessabelle_Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conyngham, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Jalapeno Jelly

See how to make a colorful Christmas relish that’s sweet and spicy.

Quick Pickled Jalapeno Rings

Watch Chef John make quick-and-easy pickled peppers.

How to Make Hot Pepper Jelly

See how to make a spicy red and green bell pepper jelly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States