Jalapeno Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
I made this jalapeno jelly recipe as my first canning experience and I have to say it was very easy to make! I used 8 cups of sugar and it is so sweet that I hardly doubt it made any difference in taste. Also I used pectin powder (1 box) since I couldn't find the liquid one in our local grocery store. I also used electric chopper to chop everything. I would suggest this recipe to everyone. It is very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Have made this 4 times. I have added sweet onions to one batch and have added the juice of one lemon and lemon zest to another batch. Have had so many requests to this jelly I needed to keep buying canning jars. This recipe is the best!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
This is amazing stuff! Can't wait to slather some on a piece of corn bread. I doubled the recipe, pulverizing the peppers in a food processor, then cooking them in the vinegar as directed. Rather than straining the pulp, I ran it all through a food mill. With this treatment, I ended up with 11 cups of very flavorful jelly. Lots to share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Excellent and easy! I can't eat pork loin without it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rita

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Chetwynd, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Sexsmith, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
great! had a bumper crop of peppers this year. i took others advice- did not strain, used 6c sugar, 2tb butter to keep the foam down. turned out AMAZING. really spicy, but totally addictive. set wonderfully, so easy i did it while my toddler and baby ate dinner in their high chairs. i didnt put it in a boiling water bath, because i know we will go through it pretty quickly, but it made a lot more than i expected- 38oz! ill probably give away the two 8oz cans, and keep the pint can and the rest of myself. i CANNOT WAIT to have this on some mild cheese with a cold beer. perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
I have been looking for a good 'pepper jelly' recipe forever... so many of them were green bell peppers, this one is much spicier, and to my taste. I raise chili peppers, but didn't have any jalapenos, so I used sereno chili once, and this time, I used the tiny Thai chilies..... MMmmmm good, I strained it the 1st time, and this time I put the pulp back in. Great! both ways.. oh I used pepin (instead of Certo) for a Vegan friend this last time..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tutu Sharna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pahoa, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
It took me 2 hrs to make this the first time because I wanted to make sure I read everything correctly. Now, it takes me 45 mins. and that's including cleanup time. Love this recipe! It's absolutely the easiest thing I've ever made. I'm even giving a class on how to make it. I have doubled the recipe and it turned out perfect. I've probably made it 10 times. Perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA
Living In: Sanger, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
I recently made this recipe and followed it to the letter. After straining the mixture I did end up with 1 cup of liquid. I simply want to let you know that this recipe yields four (4) 8-ounce jelly jars, not just "two" as you stated. Can't understand why you changed the original 4 jar yield to 2 jars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
So easy to make! Followed receipe as fellow reviewer Rae suggested (Nov. 18th 2006). Finely processed peppers, bypassed any straining, did not remove any seeds, used 6 cups of sugar & 2 tbsp. of butter and wow so good to eat! My only recommendation would be to wear gloves while preparing peppers & enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
I just made this yummy sounding recipe and followed Rae's suggestion of using 6 cups sugar and not straining. Wished I was more sure of how to do a hot water bath for sealing the jars, but since I used hot jars filled with hot jelly and kept them in the hot water bath for about 5 minutes, I am assuming that as it cools, it will 1) jell and 2) seal the jars. I added 1 drop of green food color to enhance the color and was able to fill 6 half pint jars. Can't wait to try it out once it cools! What a great way to use up jalapenos from the garden! Thank you for this amazing recipe that is surely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanna Roberts Goolsby

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hartland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Jalapeno Jelly

See how to make a colorful Christmas relish that’s sweet and spicy.

Quick Pickled Jalapeno Rings

Watch Chef John make quick-and-easy pickled peppers.

Jalapeno Popper Spread

It tastes just like the jalapeno poppers you love!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States