Jalapeno Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
Great recipe. I used one green pepper, 6 jalapenos with seeds and 6 without. I also used 3 anaham (sp) seeded peppers. I put all in a ninja blender with 1.5 cups of reg vinager. Great blender!!! it completly pureed beautifuly without scraping the sides. During cooking I added 2 Tbls butter to help with the foaming...this trick works great. followed recipe as written except I used only one 3 oz packet of liquid fruit pectin and 4 seeded and fine chopped/minced jalapenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gulfport, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
Surprisingly good and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
I ended up with two cups of liquid, but just made sure to take the temp up to 220 degrees before adding the pectin. I did shake the jars while cooling to distribute the chopped peppers. It is delicious!!! Perfectly spicy and not too sweet. Thanks for an excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cblwolf

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I used Sure-Jel pectin and the package says it may take hot pepper jelly up to a week to gel. After 12 hrs it is very thick but not set. We will see. The flavor is great. I used the entire pepper except for the cap and it has the right amount of heat for us. The color is a bit drab so I may use the coloring next time. After cooking the peppers I had 2 cups of liquid. Not sure whether I should have used more pectin or reduced the liquid but I'll know in a week how to adjust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
WEAR GLOVES...'nuff said about that. I doubled the recipe and added 24t powdered pectin at the beginning. I put most of my peppers in the blender with 1C regular distilled vinegar and pureed them. I finely chopped the rest. I put all of it in the pot and cooked it until I had a rolling boil and canned them. I yielded 9- 8oz jars. Wish I had thought ahead to use 4oz jars instead. They turned out perfect! May try red and yellow bell peppers next time just to jazz it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINGERBREAD_CA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Very yummy! I didn't have any liquid pectin so I tried to substitute the powder (using a conversion I found online) and it was ok but next time I will surely use the liquid pectin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Whitney Ford
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
This was my first time to make my own pepper jelly and my first time to can anything. This recipe is good but I think it could be better. Harry and David's pepper jelly is what I'm use to and this recipe isn't to that level. I followed the directions exactly other than using a red bell pepper instead of green (for color). Problems I encountered: The liquid pectin comes in 3 ounce packets but this recipe calls for 4 ounces (that's just not very thrifty). If you actually get all the liquid out in step 2 it actually ends up making enough to fill 4 - 8 oz jars; I had to quickly wash an extra jar and I had 3 ready just in case it filled more than the 2 specified. It does not say how long to process the jars (from looking at other canning recipes I assumed 20 minutes; Ball's instructions says the recipe should indicate canning time). UPDATE: After sitting for a couple days in the jar the flavor improved significantly. It is also highly jelly so I think the liquid pectin could be cut back to 3oz so that only one packet could be used. So I'd give it a 4 for flavor but the odd amount of pectin as written makes stay a 3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whitney Ford

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Richardson, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Delicious and very easy to make. I put all 16 peppers in the blender (in small batches) until finely chopped. As suggested, I used 6 cups of sugar, and I put in 1 TBLS butter before adding the Certo. I didn't strain. It actually set up too much and was a little too sweet for my liking. Next time I will use 5 cups sugar and just 3 oz Certo. Great recipe and wonderful way to use those extra peppers from the garden!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I didn't get 1/4 cup of liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by racinee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
I made the recipe with the following variations: I pureed the peppers & seeds into a fine slurry and did not strain anything. My Certo came in 3-oz pouches, so I used 3 oz. instead of 4 oz. and it set just fine. Good stuff! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Jalapeno Jelly

See how to make a colorful Christmas relish that’s sweet and spicy.

Quick Pickled Jalapeno Rings

Watch Chef John make quick-and-easy pickled peppers.

How to Make Hot Pepper Jelly

See how to make a spicy red and green bell pepper jelly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States