Jalapeno Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Very yummy! I didn't have any liquid pectin so I tried to substitute the powder (using a conversion I found online) and it was ok but next time I will surely use the liquid pectin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Whitney Ford
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
This was my first time to make my own pepper jelly and my first time to can anything. This recipe is good but I think it could be better. Harry and David's pepper jelly is what I'm use to and this recipe isn't to that level. I followed the directions exactly other than using a red bell pepper instead of green (for color). Problems I encountered: The liquid pectin comes in 3 ounce packets but this recipe calls for 4 ounces (that's just not very thrifty). If you actually get all the liquid out in step 2 it actually ends up making enough to fill 4 - 8 oz jars; I had to quickly wash an extra jar and I had 3 ready just in case it filled more than the 2 specified. It does not say how long to process the jars (from looking at other canning recipes I assumed 20 minutes; Ball's instructions says the recipe should indicate canning time). UPDATE: After sitting for a couple days in the jar the flavor improved significantly. It is also highly jelly so I think the liquid pectin could be cut back to 3oz so that only one packet could be used. So I'd give it a 4 for flavor but the odd amount of pectin as written makes stay a 3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whitney Ford

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Richardson, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Delicious and very easy to make. I put all 16 peppers in the blender (in small batches) until finely chopped. As suggested, I used 6 cups of sugar, and I put in 1 TBLS butter before adding the Certo. I didn't strain. It actually set up too much and was a little too sweet for my liking. Next time I will use 5 cups sugar and just 3 oz Certo. Great recipe and wonderful way to use those extra peppers from the garden!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I didn't get 1/4 cup of liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by racinee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
I made the recipe with the following variations: I pureed the peppers & seeds into a fine slurry and did not strain anything. My Certo came in 3-oz pouches, so I used 3 oz. instead of 4 oz. and it set just fine. Good stuff! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Have now made this 3 times over the last 7 days every time I make it gets better! I found that to get a nice rosy appearance you must use a red bell pepper, out of the 12 jalapeno peppers, I used 2 larger ones without seeding or deveining them. I simmered for 13 minutes and yielded 12 oz after straining. Like other reviewers I added 2 tbsp butter before adding liquid pectin and shook jars to evenly distribute chopped jalapeno prior to hot water bath. Had no problems jelling. WOW! Thanks for this recipe, I now have a new favourite jelly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
I made this to the "T" last summer when I had a garden overflowing with peppers. It's great just as is. Now if your sensitive to heat or you get a batch of really hot peppers (as they can vary), you can cut the jam by half with mayo for sandwich spreads. Or, you can add grilled corn removed from the cob-awesome! That way your peppers and efforts will not be wasted. This year, I made some adjustments. After straining, I added the juice from 1 lime. And, when adding the jalapenos at the end, I added finely grated zest of said lime. It just turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
This is a great recipe!. Just beware and wear gloves when you are working with the jalapenos as the oil will burn your hands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pomeroy, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
I doubled the vinegar, sugar and pectin to tame down the HOT! Also added 4 Sweet Hungarian Peppers to mixture. Instead of chopping up 4 Jalapenos at the end, I added 2 tablespoons of the pulp. Turned out fantastic with no waste! It made 8- 8 ounces jars of jelly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
I went to the local farmers market to get jalapenos and ended up getting hungarian wax peppers instead. I only needed 3 large ones to make up for the jalapenos! I also added a small red pepper. I didn't strain it (lazy) but it set nicely as it was. It was a hit around our house last fall. I'll definitely be making a double batch this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

Displaying results 31-40 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Jalapeno Jelly

See how to make a colorful Christmas relish that’s sweet and spicy.

Quick Pickled Jalapeno Rings

Watch Chef John make quick-and-easy pickled peppers.

How to Make Hot Pepper Jelly

See how to make a spicy red and green bell pepper jelly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States