Jalapeno Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
Ok, I've never jarred or canned anything. I was a bit nervouse going into this after hearing all the horror stories about how difficult jarring can be. So, I followed the recipe to the letter. At stage 2, I had slightly more than 1 cup of liquid. Only mistake was that I let the mixture boil over... lots of cleaning afterwards :) Anyway, as I was pouring the jelly into the three cup jars I had ready, it was obvious there was going to be a substantial amount left over. Luckily, I had another jar sterilized, so all I needed to do was to grab and use that. Now, my suggestion is to let the jelly sit for a while (a minute or so), then stir the peppers from the top of the jar into the body of the jelly. The jelly thickens fast, so it doesn't take too long. The jelly came out beautifully. And, as an added bonus, I got over four cups!!! This recipe was excellent. I will certainly make this for Christmas presents. It's taste is wonderful! It tates like jalapinos, but is not hot. We had it with bagels, whipped cream cheese and lox. I can't stress enough; when you pour the jelly into the jars, let them sit for a minute or so, then mix the peppers that are floating on the top into the body of the mixture... it's beautiful. For a divorced dad, this was a precursor to making grape jelly with my daughters this weekend! Looking forward to more success!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
I've made this twice following the instructions and also without the added chopped jalapeno and it turns out great. It does make at least 4-8 oz. jars, not 2 as the recipe states. I normally get a bit over 1 cup of liquid and use the 4 ounces of liquid pectin as called for and it sets just fine. I gave it away for Xmas last year in 4 oz jars along with jars of cranberry jelly. They looked cute together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
First time making jelly, and canning. Delicious!!! Family wants more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
Great recipe. I used one green pepper, 6 jalapenos with seeds and 6 without. I also used 3 anaham (sp) seeded peppers. I put all in a ninja blender with 1.5 cups of reg vinager. Great blender!!! it completly pureed beautifuly without scraping the sides. During cooking I added 2 Tbls butter to help with the foaming...this trick works great. followed recipe as written except I used only one 3 oz packet of liquid fruit pectin and 4 seeded and fine chopped/minced jalapenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gulfport, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
Surprisingly good and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
I ended up with two cups of liquid, but just made sure to take the temp up to 220 degrees before adding the pectin. I did shake the jars while cooling to distribute the chopped peppers. It is delicious!!! Perfectly spicy and not too sweet. Thanks for an excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I used Sure-Jel pectin and the package says it may take hot pepper jelly up to a week to gel. After 12 hrs it is very thick but not set. We will see. The flavor is great. I used the entire pepper except for the cap and it has the right amount of heat for us. The color is a bit drab so I may use the coloring next time. After cooking the peppers I had 2 cups of liquid. Not sure whether I should have used more pectin or reduced the liquid but I'll know in a week how to adjust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
WEAR GLOVES...'nuff said about that. I doubled the recipe and added 24t powdered pectin at the beginning. I put most of my peppers in the blender with 1C regular distilled vinegar and pureed them. I finely chopped the rest. I put all of it in the pot and cooked it until I had a rolling boil and canned them. I yielded 9- 8oz jars. Wish I had thought ahead to use 4oz jars instead. They turned out perfect! May try red and yellow bell peppers next time just to jazz it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINGERBREAD_CA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Very yummy! I didn't have any liquid pectin so I tried to substitute the powder (using a conversion I found online) and it was ok but next time I will surely use the liquid pectin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Whitney
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
This was my first time to make my own pepper jelly and my first time to can anything. This recipe is good but I think it could be better. Harry and David's pepper jelly is what I'm use to and this recipe isn't to that level. I followed the directions exactly other than using a red bell pepper instead of green (for color). Problems I encountered: The liquid pectin comes in 3 ounce packets but this recipe calls for 4 ounces (that's just not very thrifty). If you actually get all the liquid out in step 2 it actually ends up making enough to fill 4 - 8 oz jars; I had to quickly wash an extra jar and I had 3 ready just in case it filled more than the 2 specified. It does not say how long to process the jars (from looking at other canning recipes I assumed 20 minutes; Ball's instructions says the recipe should indicate canning time). UPDATE: After sitting for a couple days in the jar the flavor improved significantly. It is also highly jelly so I think the liquid pectin could be cut back to 3oz so that only one packet could be used. So I'd give it a 4 for flavor but the odd amount of pectin as written makes stay a 3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whitney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Garland, Texas, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Jalapeno Jelly

See how to make a colorful Christmas relish that’s sweet and spicy.

Quick Pickled Jalapeno Rings

Watch Chef John make quick-and-easy pickled peppers.

How to Make Hot Pepper Jelly

See how to make a spicy red and green bell pepper jelly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States