Jalapeno Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
Surprisingly good and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
I ended up with two cups of liquid, but just made sure to take the temp up to 220 degrees before adding the pectin. I did shake the jars while cooling to distribute the chopped peppers. It is delicious!!! Perfectly spicy and not too sweet. Thanks for an excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I used Sure-Jel pectin and the package says it may take hot pepper jelly up to a week to gel. After 12 hrs it is very thick but not set. We will see. The flavor is great. I used the entire pepper except for the cap and it has the right amount of heat for us. The color is a bit drab so I may use the coloring next time. After cooking the peppers I had 2 cups of liquid. Not sure whether I should have used more pectin or reduced the liquid but I'll know in a week how to adjust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
WEAR GLOVES...'nuff said about that. I doubled the recipe and added 24t powdered pectin at the beginning. I put most of my peppers in the blender with 1C regular distilled vinegar and pureed them. I finely chopped the rest. I put all of it in the pot and cooked it until I had a rolling boil and canned them. I yielded 9- 8oz jars. Wish I had thought ahead to use 4oz jars instead. They turned out perfect! May try red and yellow bell peppers next time just to jazz it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINGERBREAD_CA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Very yummy! I didn't have any liquid pectin so I tried to substitute the powder (using a conversion I found online) and it was ok but next time I will surely use the liquid pectin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Whitney
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
This was my first time to make my own pepper jelly and my first time to can anything. This recipe is good but I think it could be better. Harry and David's pepper jelly is what I'm use to and this recipe isn't to that level. I followed the directions exactly other than using a red bell pepper instead of green (for color). Problems I encountered: The liquid pectin comes in 3 ounce packets but this recipe calls for 4 ounces (that's just not very thrifty). If you actually get all the liquid out in step 2 it actually ends up making enough to fill 4 - 8 oz jars; I had to quickly wash an extra jar and I had 3 ready just in case it filled more than the 2 specified. It does not say how long to process the jars (from looking at other canning recipes I assumed 20 minutes; Ball's instructions says the recipe should indicate canning time). UPDATE: After sitting for a couple days in the jar the flavor improved significantly. It is also highly jelly so I think the liquid pectin could be cut back to 3oz so that only one packet could be used. So I'd give it a 4 for flavor but the odd amount of pectin as written makes stay a 3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whitney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Garland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Delicious and very easy to make. I put all 16 peppers in the blender (in small batches) until finely chopped. As suggested, I used 6 cups of sugar, and I put in 1 TBLS butter before adding the Certo. I didn't strain. It actually set up too much and was a little too sweet for my liking. Next time I will use 5 cups sugar and just 3 oz Certo. Great recipe and wonderful way to use those extra peppers from the garden!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I didn't get 1/4 cup of liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by racinee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
I made the recipe with the following variations: I pureed the peppers & seeds into a fine slurry and did not strain anything. My Certo came in 3-oz pouches, so I used 3 oz. instead of 4 oz. and it set just fine. Good stuff! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Have now made this 3 times over the last 7 days every time I make it gets better! I found that to get a nice rosy appearance you must use a red bell pepper, out of the 12 jalapeno peppers, I used 2 larger ones without seeding or deveining them. I simmered for 13 minutes and yielded 12 oz after straining. Like other reviewers I added 2 tbsp butter before adding liquid pectin and shook jars to evenly distribute chopped jalapeno prior to hot water bath. Had no problems jelling. WOW! Thanks for this recipe, I now have a new favourite jelly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Jalapeno Jelly

See how to make a colorful Christmas relish that’s sweet and spicy.

Quick Pickled Jalapeno Rings

Watch Chef John make quick-and-easy pickled peppers.

Jalapeno Popper Spread

It tastes just like the jalapeno poppers you love!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States