Jalapeno Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I was surprised at the degree to which the sugar kills the heat of the peppers. When I saw that some folks add a habanero or two I thought that was crazy, but it's not. To make this warm (not hot) I have progressed over 3 batches from 1. All jalapeños with 2/3 seeded to 2. Two seeded serranos and the balance jalapeños with 1/3 of them seeded and finally 3. Three serranos plus jalapeños, and all seeds included. Cut stems from the peppers, toss whole in cuisinart with berries. Easy, but needs a tad more heat yet. Just remember before you modify recipe that some jalapenos are hotter than others. Try this drizzled on cheesecake - WOW!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
I HAVE MADE THIS EVERY AND IT IS THE BEST RECIPE EVER. I MADE IT, GIVE A PACK OF CREAM CHEESE AND CRACKERS AS MY GIFT TO NEIGHBORS AND FRIENDS! DELIGHTFUL! INDOCOOK ~JOYCE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Used 6 cups sugar, and did not strain. Excellent, seeds & all! Pretty, too. Made 12 little 4oz. gift jars, and a spoonful for me to have with bread & butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeeingPat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
This is everything I was hoping for in a pepper jelly and more.We use to get a jar at Christmas time from a Company our family business deals with and we always raved about it.Well now I can make my own.It is awesome with cream cheese on crackers.Guess what Im giving everybody for Christmas?Oh I made it just as the recipe says, no tweaking needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine H
Home Town: Lawton, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
Ok, I've never jarred or canned anything. I was a bit nervouse going into this after hearing all the horror stories about how difficult jarring can be. So, I followed the recipe to the letter. At stage 2, I had slightly more than 1 cup of liquid. Only mistake was that I let the mixture boil over... lots of cleaning afterwards :) Anyway, as I was pouring the jelly into the three cup jars I had ready, it was obvious there was going to be a substantial amount left over. Luckily, I had another jar sterilized, so all I needed to do was to grab and use that. Now, my suggestion is to let the jelly sit for a while (a minute or so), then stir the peppers from the top of the jar into the body of the jelly. The jelly thickens fast, so it doesn't take too long. The jelly came out beautifully. And, as an added bonus, I got over four cups!!! This recipe was excellent. I will certainly make this for Christmas presents. It's taste is wonderful! It tates like jalapinos, but is not hot. We had it with bagels, whipped cream cheese and lox. I can't stress enough; when you pour the jelly into the jars, let them sit for a minute or so, then mix the peppers that are floating on the top into the body of the mixture... it's beautiful. For a divorced dad, this was a precursor to making grape jelly with my daughters this weekend! Looking forward to more success!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
I've made this twice following the instructions and also without the added chopped jalapeno and it turns out great. It does make at least 4-8 oz. jars, not 2 as the recipe states. I normally get a bit over 1 cup of liquid and use the 4 ounces of liquid pectin as called for and it sets just fine. I gave it away for Xmas last year in 4 oz jars along with jars of cranberry jelly. They looked cute together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
First time making jelly, and canning. Delicious!!! Family wants more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
Great recipe. I used one green pepper, 6 jalapenos with seeds and 6 without. I also used 3 anaham (sp) seeded peppers. I put all in a ninja blender with 1.5 cups of reg vinager. Great blender!!! it completly pureed beautifuly without scraping the sides. During cooking I added 2 Tbls butter to help with the foaming...this trick works great. followed recipe as written except I used only one 3 oz packet of liquid fruit pectin and 4 seeded and fine chopped/minced jalapenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gulfport, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
Surprisingly good and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
I ended up with two cups of liquid, but just made sure to take the temp up to 220 degrees before adding the pectin. I did shake the jars while cooling to distribute the chopped peppers. It is delicious!!! Perfectly spicy and not too sweet. Thanks for an excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Jalapeno Jelly

See how to make a colorful Christmas relish that’s sweet and spicy.

Quick Pickled Jalapeno Rings

Watch Chef John make quick-and-easy pickled peppers.

Jalapeno Popper Spread

It tastes just like the jalapeno poppers you love!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States