Jalapeno Hot Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
Delicious sauce! Added some habanero peppers and lemon juice for added bite. This one is better than any bottled green sauce and I love that I can control the amount of salt (my biggest issue with bottled sauces). Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Java_Girl
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
I really love this hot sauce but had to give it less than 5 stars because if I had made it precisely as instructed it wouldn't have been good. The first time I made this I nearly passed out because the vinegar was so overwhelming. I just halved the vinegar and it worked wonderfully for me. We make it all the time now and it's a staple in our kitchen. We eat it with eggs and potatoes, tacos... anything that needs a little kick. We even add it to beans when we are making refried beans. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
254 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Java_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
My husband and I made this to use up jalapenos from my parents' garden, and we love it! It has a great heat to it, but not too much to block out the great pepper flavor of the sauce. We did reduce the vinegar like many have suggested, and added some fresno peppers. This is definitely one we will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
A nice tasting sauce with a bit of bite. Add a few habaneros if you want to heat it up. I also doubled the garlic and used 3/4 cup of vinegar which I could have cut back even more but I wanted to keep the consistency more liquidy than thick. I would suggest staying away from sugar for any true hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
Well I used this as a "starter" recipe. BUT.. I used 6 jalapeno's, 9 Red HOT Peppers AND 2 Habanero's. Also a 1/3 cup vinegar and 3tbsp's of sugar. Gave it a deceiving taste...sweet..then mega hot. Darn Fine Hot Sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
Great Hot Sauce. Pretty hot. Hubby loves it. Followed other reviews and added only 1/4 cup vinegar and some sugar like a teaspoon or so
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nuremberg, Bayern, Germany
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2006
Used jalapenos from the garden and nayonaise (soy mayo) and it turned out too hot. I'll try hungarians or less jalapenos next time with less vinegar as well. I'd make again for a good spicy sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Slippery Rock, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
I used del sol's instead of jalapenos. Spicy hot. Everyone loved it. Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
I should give this 5 stars just because it made my husband cry LOL but he used serranos instead of jalapenos & he took a bite while the salsa was still warm. He also cut wayy back on the vinegar. He used rice vinegar & only used 1/4 of a cup. He also used raw sugar in the recipe & he loved the flavor it added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
I agree with the other posts... this needed a little work. I think adding sugar, subtracting lots of vinegar, and throwing a habanero or two in will help quite a bit. I also added a bit of cilantro and lemon juice just for fun and it worked out pretty well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Sriracha Sauce

See how to make your own sriracha hot sauce.

Hot Wheels Pasta

A spicy summer tomato sauce with chile peppers and zucchini.

How to Make Mole Sauce

See how to make an authentic mole sauce, Oaxaca-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States