Jalapeno Hot Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Java_Girl
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
I really love this hot sauce but had to give it less than 5 stars because if I had made it precisely as instructed it wouldn't have been good. The first time I made this I nearly passed out because the vinegar was so overwhelming. I just halved the vinegar and it worked wonderfully for me. We make it all the time now and it's a staple in our kitchen. We eat it with eggs and potatoes, tacos... anything that needs a little kick. We even add it to beans when we are making refried beans. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
271 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Java_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
I agree with the other posts... this needed a little work. I think adding sugar, subtracting lots of vinegar, and throwing a habanero or two in will help quite a bit. I also added a bit of cilantro and lemon juice just for fun and it worked out pretty well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2001
Ive been looking for hot sauce recipes and really liked this but it was really hot! May seed some of the chilies next time. Used a veggie slicer on peppers and it saved alot of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
Great Hot Sauce. Pretty hot. Hubby loves it. Followed other reviews and added only 1/4 cup vinegar and some sugar like a teaspoon or so
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nuremberg, Bayern, Germany
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
A nice tasting sauce with a bit of bite. Add a few habaneros if you want to heat it up. I also doubled the garlic and used 3/4 cup of vinegar which I could have cut back even more but I wanted to keep the consistency more liquidy than thick. I would suggest staying away from sugar for any true hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
Well I used this as a "starter" recipe. BUT.. I used 6 jalapeno's, 9 Red HOT Peppers AND 2 Habanero's. Also a 1/3 cup vinegar and 3tbsp's of sugar. Gave it a deceiving taste...sweet..then mega hot. Darn Fine Hot Sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2004
Nice basic recipe to build off of but to make it as it is makes a very boring bland sauce thats not very hot and way to much vinegar taste. Will definately use this recipe as a base(starting point) but never again just as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Alberni, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
I agree with other reviews, too much vinegar; otherwise, I would have given it 5 stars. I used 1/4 cup white wine vinegar, and it seemed like just enough. I left all the seeds in my peppers, and it was super hot. I also added an extra garlic clove and about a Tbl of sugar. This is a sauce that will get better over time, so I am looking forward to how it develops. A great way to use up the jalapenos from my garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
WHo would have thought this was going to taste so good? I added a bit of sugar, and it made it even etter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
I love the way everyone puts a different spin on this. I use a large onion, 6 large cloves garlic, half tspn mexican oregano, a couple of bay leaves, half cup white wine vinager, juice of 1 lime and the jalapenos. Doctors got me on a strict diet and I love spicy foods. I eat a lot of salads so for a spicy salad dressing that's not pure fat I mix 1 part of this with 2 parts balsamic vinager 1 part EVOO and a pinch of cumin....yumm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Sriracha Sauce

See how to make your own sriracha hot sauce.

Hot Wheels Pasta

A spicy summer tomato sauce with chile peppers and zucchini.

How to Make Mole Sauce

See how to make an authentic mole sauce, Oaxaca-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States