Jalapeno Hot Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Will try again. Added sugar and cumin like another reviewer did and that was a bad decision! Next time I'll follow the directions closer but still this was a good base. Gave our taco's a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Very good! I modified only slightly: used 10 jalapenos & 4 serrano peppers because that is what I had; decreased the water to 1 1/2 cups; and added a dash of lime juice, bit of cilantro, and 1 tsp of sugar as suggested by the other reviewers. Had this at my super bowl party and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
This sauce is soooo good! Just be prepared to choke a little on the spicy air when you're blending and pouring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
I made this with serrano peppers (about 1.5 lbs). I reduced the vinegar to 2/3 cups based on other reviews. The sauce was great! But I will add the full cup of vinegar next time - there will be a next time. :) Thanks Rayna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kate65

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
I have never made my own hot sauce but after this recipe I don't think I'll ever buy hot sauce again! The only thing I changed was to reduce the vinegar to 3/4 cup. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cape May, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
I used half the vinegar and bf deseededless then half the jalapenos. Next time we will deseed more because it is hot! Good tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
This was a really good green sauce. Makes a large amount - more then I can use - but this was still a yummy green sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
I LOVE this recipe. I add a bit of sugar and also a teaspoon of cumin, but otherwise make it just as directed. So good on everything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Heironimus Castle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Johnstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
Wow, thanks for sharing. I followed some reviews so, I didn't put all the vinegar but it is a good base. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
Serving size should be more specific (i.e. volume). 16 servings makes roughly 25 ounces. I don't know how many people consider a serving size to be over an ounce when dealing with a sauce this hot. Be careful when you're sauteing over the stove, fumes will be noxious. I did like everyone else and cut vinegar by 1/4 cup (so 3/4 vinegar), and added a bit of sugar (1/3 cup). I also added a habanero and 3 serranos, along with a dash of liquid smoke. In retrospect I probably could have omitted the extra peppers and it would be perfect. It's got a heat that sticks to you pretty good. If you're real adventurous, add a few other varied peppers for a bit of extra kick. Overall a good base, but certainly needs tweaking to individual taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Sriracha Sauce

See how to make your own sriracha hot sauce.

Hot Wheels Pasta

A spicy summer tomato sauce with chile peppers and zucchini.

How to Make Mole Sauce

See how to make an authentic mole sauce, Oaxaca-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States