Jalapeno Hot Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
This was awesome. I did take one persons advised and used only half the amount of vinegar. I chopped up an avocado and mixed in the blender with some of the sauce. It was delicious. My brothers who like hot food loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
I agree with other reviews, too much vinegar; otherwise, I would have given it 5 stars. I used 1/4 cup white wine vinegar, and it seemed like just enough. I left all the seeds in my peppers, and it was super hot. I also added an extra garlic clove and about a Tbl of sugar. This is a sauce that will get better over time, so I am looking forward to how it develops. A great way to use up the jalapenos from my garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
I've made this twice, once as the recipe calls and another making some slight changes. Both times they're very very good. The second time I made it I added 1 packed tablespoon of brown sugar, 1 tsp cumin, and 1 tsp ancho chili powder. I also cooked the 2 habaneros with the jalapenos which really helped the heat quite a bit. I liked it better the second way. The amount of vinegar is just right, since this stuff is supposed to be very very similar to tabasco sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
I have been looking for a recipe to make my red hot cracked Jalapeno's into a hot sauce, this is a perfect way of doing it. I followed the recipe except I used olive oil, in place of veg. oil, and used 1/4 cup of vinegar instead of 1 cup. mmmmm good if you can let your Jalapenos stay on the plant until they look real ugly and red makes for a better sweet kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Will try again. Added sugar and cumin like another reviewer did and that was a bad decision! Next time I'll follow the directions closer but still this was a good base. Gave our taco's a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Very good! I modified only slightly: used 10 jalapenos & 4 serrano peppers because that is what I had; decreased the water to 1 1/2 cups; and added a dash of lime juice, bit of cilantro, and 1 tsp of sugar as suggested by the other reviewers. Had this at my super bowl party and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
This sauce is soooo good! Just be prepared to choke a little on the spicy air when you're blending and pouring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
I made this with serrano peppers (about 1.5 lbs). I reduced the vinegar to 2/3 cups based on other reviews. The sauce was great! But I will add the full cup of vinegar next time - there will be a next time. :) Thanks Rayna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kate65

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
I have never made my own hot sauce but after this recipe I don't think I'll ever buy hot sauce again! The only thing I changed was to reduce the vinegar to 3/4 cup. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cape May, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
I used half the vinegar and bf deseededless then half the jalapenos. Next time we will deseed more because it is hot! Good tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Sriracha Sauce

See how to make your own sriracha hot sauce.

Hot Wheels Pasta

A spicy summer tomato sauce with chile peppers and zucchini.

How to Make Mole Sauce

See how to make an authentic mole sauce, Oaxaca-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States